Multi-Million Cuts for Cornwall

We're being asked to help Cornwall Council find ways of saving nearly two hundred million pounds over the next four years.

The council says the government-forced cuts will mean the axing of front line services and will radically change the way the council's  run forever.

Already £170 million has been saved since 2009.  And next year £24 million will have to be shaved from the budget.

It means council tax will have to rise by 2 per cent next year.  But this won't cover the loss in government grant.

The council is holding 19 public meetings over the next few weeks to hear where we want the cuts to fall.


Our reporter Wendy Buckingham has been talking to Councillor Alex Folkes.  He says it's important we all get involved. 

 CLICK HERE    Cornwall Council Logo

The public consultations  will find out the views of members of the public as well as voluntary and community
      groups during September and October.  These include public meetings
      in each of the 19 community network areas between 5 September and 9
      October, and a Cornwall Budget Debate at County Hall, Truro on 10 October which will be webcast live on the Council's website

The public meetings, all of which will begin at 6.30 pm, are being held at:

Thursday, 5 September St Austell One Stop Shop

Friday, 6 September  Perranzabuloe Parish Rooms

Monday, 9 September  Alexander Hall, St Blazey

Wednesday, 11 September Launceston Town Hall
Thursday, 12 September  Shire House Suite, Bodmin 

Friday, 13 September Wadebridge Council Offices

Monday, 16 September St Pinnock Village Hall, near Liskeard

Tuesday, 17 September Pool Innovation Centre

Thursday, 19 September  St Johns Hall, Penzance
Friday, 20 September Helston Town Hall

Monday, 23 September  Roche Victory Hall

Wednesday, 25 September  St Germans Community Centre

Friday, 27 September Millennium House, Pensilva

Monday, 30 September  Newquay Treviglas Community College

Wednesday, 2 October  Falcon Hotel, Bude

Thursday, 3 October Mabe Village Hall

Friday, 4 October Council Chamber, County Hall, Truro
Monday 7 October  Frank Johns Centre, Hayle

Wednesday, 9 October Clease Hall, Camelford 

The authority will also be launching YouChoose, an online
      budget simulator, on its website during October which will give people
      the opportunity to try and balance the budget for themselves. 

The results of the public and staff consultation
      will then be fed back to the Cabinet to consider before the budget is



Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Early Breakfast with Jenni Falconer

4am - 6am

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Early Breakfast with Jenni Falconer

On TV: More Music Variety

4am - 6am

Watch heart TV

  • Mark Morrison Return Of The Mack



  • Queen I Want To Break Free



  • Haddaway What Is Love



  • All Saints Pure Shores



Heart VIP


Autumn Weather

Find your local four day weather report here.

Listening To Radio Win With Heart

Make Heart the soundtrack to your day and you could be a winner with great prizes up for grabs throughout the day.

Follow Heart on Twitter