Help us save money

People in Cheltenham are being asked how the Borough Council should save money.

The council is expecting to be left with a £4.7 million blackhole if the Government cuts it's budgets by 25% over the next four years.

That means some tough decisions on what services are funding and where costs can be made.

A public consultation will run until September so you can have your say.

Mark Sheldon, chief finance officer, said:

"We want to engage people in the budget debate and hear their views. The results will be fed back to members, staff and the public, and will offer the council a better understanding about which services local residents want. Members will consider the information in the preparation of the 2011/12 budget, with an initial draft of their proposals going to cabinet on 14 December."

Find out more details online at www.cheltenham.gov.uk

There are also public events being held:

Mon 9 Aug        10.00 – 14.00   CBC - Municipal Offices foyer 
Tue 10 Aug       10.00 – 14.00   CBC - Municipal Offices foyer 
Wed 11 Aug      10.00 – 12.00   Oakley Resource Centre
Thur 12 Aug      13.00 - 15.00   Cheltenham Borough Homes community picnic; Clevedon Square, Rowanfield.
Fri 13 Aug         10.00 – 14.00   Municipal Offices foyer
Tue 17 Aug       14.00 – 18.00   Waitrose      
Thur 19 Aug      13.00 - 15.00   Cheltenham Borough Homes community picnic Ashlands Road, Hesters Way. 
Sat 21 Aug        10.00 – 14.00   Sainsburys, Gallagher Retail Park     
Mon 23 Aug      11.00 – 15.00   Regent Arcade by the lifts    
Tue 24 Aug       11.00 – 15.00   Regent Arcade by the lifts    
Wed 25 Aug      11.00 – 15.00   Regent Arcade by the lifts    
Thur 26 Aug      13.00 - 15.00   Cheltenham Borough Homes community picnic, Sun Street, St Peters.     
Fri 27 Aug        11.00 – 15.00   Regent Arcade by BHS  
Tue 31 Aug      11.00 – 19.30   Leisure@Cheltenham, Tommy Taylors Lane
Thur 2 Sept      9.00 – 143.00   Henrietta Street Market       
Mon 6 Sept      10.00 – 12.00   Springbank Resource Centre    
Tue 7 Sept       9.30 – 12.30     Lower High Street Resource Centre
                      17.00 – 20.00   Leisure@Cheltenham, Tommy Taylors Lane
Wed 8 Sept      10.00 – 12.00   Hesters Way Resource Centre   
Thur 9 Sept     11.30 – 13.00   The Cornerstone Centre soup lunch, Severn Road

Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Jenni Falconer

6am - 9am

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Jenni Falconer

On TV: Heart Xmas Is Here!

4am - 10am

Watch heart TV

  • Coldplay Christmas Lights

    Now

    iTunes

  • Shakin' Stevens Merry Christmas Everyone

    08:05

    iTunes

  • Elton John Step Into Christmas

    08:01

    iTunes

  • Band Aid 30 Do They Know It's Christmas?

    07:58

    iTunes

More On Heart