Oxford East

Labour's Andrew Smith has held onto the Oxford East seat he only narrowly kept in 2005.

He wasn't expected to keep it this time round because of a fierce campaign by the Liberal Democrats.  

Boundary changes also mean more students now live in the Oxford East constituency, who - it was expected - would be more inclined to vote Lib Dem.

There was also a big drop in national support for Gordon Brown's party, but despite all this, Andrew Smith managed to increase his majority.

Picture: Andrew Smith gives his acceptance speech

Listen to our interview with Oxford East MP Andrew Smith


2010 result - LAB hold

+Andrew Smith (Lab) 21,938 (42.47%)
Steve Goddard (LD) 17,357 (33.60%)
Edward Argar (C) 9,727 (18.83%)
Sushila Dhall (Green) 1,238 (2.40%)
Julia Gasper (UKIP) 1,202 (2.33%)
David O'Sullivan (SEP) 116 (0.22%)
Roger Crawford (Parenting) 73 (0.14%)

LAB majority 4,581


2005 result - LAB hold

Andrew Smith (Lab) 15,405
Steve Goddard (LD) 14,442
Virginia Morris (Con) 6,992
Jacob Sanders (Green) 1,813
Honest Blair (Independent) 1,485
Maurice Leen (IWCA) 892
Peter Gardner (UK Independence Party) 715
Pat Mylvaganam (Independent) 46

LAB majority 963

Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Toby Anstis

10am - 1pm

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Toby Anstis

Stay tuned...

Watch heart TV

  • Now playing: The best feel good music