Donna Jones New Leader Of Portsmouth City Council

It's all change at Portsmouth City Council, after Gerald Vernon-Jackson stepped down as leader, following the local election results.

A new administration is to run Portsmouth City Council following a vote at the annual meeting of councillors today.

The Conservative group is in charge, after gaining the support of the UKIP and Labour groups.

Conservative group leader Cllr Donna Jones is now Leader of the Council, with party colleague Cllr Luke Stubbs as her deputy.

The council's cabinet posts have been allocated to Conservative councillors, as follows:

  • planning, regeneration and economic development - Cllr Stubbs
  • environment and community safety - Cllr Rob New
  • culture, leisure and sport - Cllr Linda Symes
  • traffic and transportation  - Cllr Ken Ellcome
  • health and social care - Cllr Frank Jonas
  • housing - Cllr Steve Wemyss
  • resources - Cllr Lee Mason
  • children and education - Cllr Neill Young

Earlier in the day, in a colourful traditional ceremony, councillors elected a new Lord Mayor, Cllr Steven Wylie, and a new Deputy Lord Mayor, Cllr David Horne.

Cllr Wylie, a Lib Dem member for Charles Dickens ward (Portsea, Landport and the central area of the city), came to Portsmouth from rural Hampshire to study art at the university. He is married to Liz and they have a 21-month-old son, Gethin.

Cllr Horne is a Labour member for Paulsgrove ward.

The political make-up of the council is:

  • 19 Liberal Democrat
  • 1 non-aligned Liberal Democrat
  • 12 Conservative
  • 6 UKIP
  • 4 Labour


Royal visit to Poundbury Royal Visit To Dorset

The Queen, Duke of Edinburgh, Prince of Wales, Duchess of Cornwall visit Poundbury in Dorset.

Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Toby Anstis

10am - 1pm

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Toby Anstis

On TV: Have To Love Them! 60 Guilty...

11am - 3pm

Watch heart TV

  • Robbie Williams Let Me Entertain You



  • Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder Together In Electric Dreams



  • Girls Aloud The Promise



  • Luther Vandross Never Too Much



Heart VIP


Autumn Weather

Find your local four day weather report here.

Listening To Radio Win With Heart

Make Heart the soundtrack to your day and you could be a winner with great prizes up for grabs throughout the day.

Follow Heart on Twitter