General Election: South Coast Results

Theresa May's met with the Queen and confirmed she's going to form a government, that she says will 'provide certainty'.

The Tories don't have enough MPs to govern on their own, after losing 12 in the general election. The results led to a hung parliament.

The Prime Minister says the Conservatives will work with their "friends" in Northern Ireland's DUP party - who have 10 MPs - giving her an overall majority.

Paul Nuttall has resigned as UKIP leader, after his party failed to win a single MP.

Labour made big gains across the country, with 29 more seats.

The Lib Dems have 12 seats, up four - while Parliament will have its highest-ever number of female MPs, more than 200.

Overall, the number of people who voted in yesterday's election was the highest it's been in 25 years.

Turnout was 68.7%.

Media preview

In Portsmouth South, Labour's Stephen Morgan surprisingly won the seat from the Conservatives.

The Tories' Royston Smith won Southampton Itchen by just 31 votes over Labour - after THREE recounts.

Labour's Alan Whitehead kept his seat Southampton Test.

Otherwise it was a great night on the South Coast for the Tories, holding all others they had.

Penny Mordaunt held on to Portsmouth North, Winchester stays with Steve Brine and Suella Fernandes was voted back in for Fareham.

Bob Seeley won the Isle of Wight - after Andrew Turner stepped down.

Tobias Ellwood and Conor Burns will remain as Bournemouth's MPs - with the rest of Dorset staying how it was.


Full General Election Results For South Coast

Bournemouth East
Tobias Ellwood (Con) HOLD

Bournemouth West
Conor Burns (Con) HOLD

Gillian Keegan (Con) HOLD

Christopher Chope (Con) HOLD

Dorset South
Richard Drax (Con) HOLD

East Hampshire
Damian Hinds (Con) HOLD

Mims Davies (Con) HOLD

Suella Fernandes (Con) HOLD

Caroline Dinenage (Con) HOLD

Alan Mak (Con) HOLD

Isle of Wight
Bob Seely (Con) HOLD

Meon Valley
George Hollingbery (Con) HOLD

Mid Dorset and North Poole
Michael Tomlinson (Con) HOLD

New Forest East
Julian Lewis (Con) HOLD

New Forest West
Desmond Swayne (Con) HOLD

North Dorset
Simon Hoare (Con) HOLD

North East Hampshire
Ranil Jayawardena (Con) HOLD

Robert Syms (Con) HOLD

Portsmouth North
Penny Mordaunt (Con) HOLD

Portsmouth South
Stephen Morgan (Lab) WON FROM CON

Romsey and Southampton North
Caroline Nokes (Con) HOLD

Southampton Itchen
Royston Smith (Con) HOLD

Southampton Test
Alan Whitehead (Lab) HOLD

Steve Brine (Con) HOLD

Recently Played Tracks

Stay tuned...

Watch heart TV

  • Now playing: The best feel good music

Heart VIP


Autumn Weather

Find your local four day weather report here.

Listening To Radio Win With Heart

Make Heart the soundtrack to your day and you could be a winner with great prizes up for grabs throughout the day.

Follow Heart on Twitter