Cambridgeshire Is Honoured By The Queen

OBE award

2016 Rio stars Jody Cundy amongst those to be honoured by the Queen in the New Years Honours.

Jody Cundy, who is already an MBE, is further honoured with an OBE for services to Cycling and Swimming. At Rio, Cundy regained his Kilo Paralympic title in a new Paralympic record. In the final track cycling event of the 2016 Summer Paralympics Jody teamed up with Cambridgeshire's Louis Rolfe to take the Mixed Team Sprint C1-5 gold medal in a World Record time of 48.635.

Louis himself gets an MBE for services to Cycling.

It's also an MBE for Giles Scott for services to Sailing. 


Professor Shankar Balasubramanian (Cambs). Herchel Smith Professor of Medicinal Chemistry. University of Cambridge. For services to Science and Medicine.



Dame Evelyn Glennie, DBE from Cambridgeshire. For services to Music.


Professor Henrietta Day, CBE. Director The Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge. For services to Plant Science, Science in Society and Equality and Diversity in Science.


Dr Stephen Inglis from Cambs. Formerly director. National Institute for Biological Standards and Control Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency. For services to Health Protection.

Professor John Pyle from Dry Drayton. Professor of Chemistry and 1920 Chair for Physical Chemistry. Cambridge University. For services to Atmospheric Chemistry and Environmental Science.

Professor John Spencer, QC from Cambs. Professor Emeritus University of Cambridge. For services to the Reform of Law Concerning Child Witnesses.


Donna Cornwell from Ely. Associate Headteacher, Swaffham Bulbeck Church of England Primary School, Cambridge. For services to Education. 

Jody Cundy, MBE. For services to Cycling and Swimming. 

Brian Gale from Cambs. Director of Policy and Campaigns. National Deaf Children's Society. For services to Special Educational Needs.

Dr Christoph Wiesner from Cambs. Chief executive. The Welding Institute. For services to Engineering and Innovation.

Dr Lorna Williamson from Harston, Cambs. Former director. NHS Blood and Transplant. For services to the Advancement of Blood Tissue and Stem Cell Donations. 


Timothy Burgess from Cambridgeshire. Chief executive Officer. Foundation of Edward Storey. For voluntary services in Cambridgeshire.

Wendy Duchesne from Holme in Cambs. Grade 7. Capabilities and Resources Home Office. For services to Developing Child-Friendly Immigration Systems.

Sylvia Morris from Stapleford in Cambs. Founder and Chair, Karen Morris Memorial Trust, Cambridgeshire. For services to Leukaemia Patients and their Families.

Peter Reeve from Huntingdon. Councillor. Huntingdonshire District Council. For services to Local Government and the community in Ramsey.

Louis Rolfe from Cambs. For services to Cycling.

Giles Scott from Huntingdon. For services to Sailing. 

Mohammed Farooq from Peterborough. For services to Fundraising and Providing Meals to Disadvantaged Children in Peterborough.

Brian Gascoyne from Peterborough. For services to Community Cohesion in Peterborough.

Geoffrey Heathcock, JP from Cambs. For services to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution and the community in Cambridgeshire.

Denise Speakman from Peterborough. Treasurer, Ethos Home Office Sports and Social Association, Home Office. For public service.


Professor Jane Francis. Director. British Antarctic Survey. For services to UK Polar Science and Diplomacy.


Jane Coston from Cambs. For services to the community in Milton.