School Closures On June 30th

29 June 2011, 09:24 | Updated: 29 June 2011, 13:09

Two teaching Unions are planning strike action on June 30th, affecting schools across the South Coast.

The following schools in Dorset County Council's area are closing:

Allenbourne Middle
Archbishop Wake
Beechcroft St Pauls
Blandford School
Blandford St Mary Primary
Bovington First
Bovington Middle
Bridport Primary
Burton Primary
Conifers Primary
Corfe Castle First
Cranborne Middle
Dorchester Middle
Emmanuel Middle
Ferndown Middle
Hayeswood First
Lulworth and Winfrith First
Lytchett Minster
Manor Park First
Milldown Primary
Mountjoy Special
Mudeford Junior
Queen Elizabeth's
Radipole Primary
Sandford Middle
Sandford St Martin's First
Sir John Colfox
Somerford Primary
Southill Primary
Southwell Primary
St George's, Portland
St Mark's First, Swanage
St Mary's First, Wool
St Mary's Primary, Bridport
St Mary's West Moors
St Michael's Middle
St Nicholas & St Laurence Primary
St Osmund's Middle
Stoborough First
Sturminster Newton High
Swanage First
Swanage Middle
Thomas Hardye
Upton Junior
Wareham Middle
Wey Valley
Winterborne Valley First
Wool First
Wyke Regis Infant & Nursery
Wyke Regis Junior
Wyvern Special

The following schools in Bournemouth Council's area are closing:

Oakmead College

Elmrise Primary

Kings Park



Pokesdown Community

St James’

St Lukes

St Marks

St Michaels

Stourfield Junior


Winton Primary

Schools partially closing:


Linwood (Partially closed)


Neil Goddard, Director of Children's Strategic Services at Bournemouth Borough Council, said:
"Responsibility for managing any strike action and informing parents rests with individual schools.  Bournemouth Borough Council would therefore advise parents to contact schools directly to ascertain whether there will be any closure as a result of the forthcoming industrial action by teachers.”

The following schools in Poole are closing:

Ashdown Technology College
Baden-Powell and St Peter's Middle School
Branksome Heath Middle School
Broadstone First School
Broadstone Middle School
Canford Heath First School
Canford Heath Middle School
Carter Community School
Corfe Hills School
Hamworthy First School and Nursery
Longfleet CE (VC) Combined School
Longspee Special School (residential trips are continuing as planned)
Oakdale South Road Middle School
Poole High School
Springdale First School
St Edward's RC CE VA Secondary School
St Joseph's Catholic Combined School
St Mary's Catholic Combined School
Stanley Green First School
Sylvan First School
Talbot Combined School
The Quay School
Winchelsea Special School


Bearwood Primary & Nursery School 
Haymoor Middle School
Heatherlands First School
Hillbourne School & Nursery
Merley First School
Montacute Special School
St Aldhelm's Combined CE VA School

Parents of children whose schools have indicated they will be partially open are advised to contact the schools directly to check which year groups are affected.

Stuart Twiss, Head of Children and Young People's Services (Strategy, Quality & Improvement), Borough of Poole, said:

 "Schools are open where it has been been possible to create a safe environment for children's education. However, the final decision on any closure rests with the individual schools and we are liaising closely with them to ensure the school day runs as normally as possible."

Schools closing in Hampshire are:

Farnborough Grange Nursery & Infant school

Grayshott Primary School

Hamble Community Sports College

Hounsdown School

Lord Wilson School

Red Barn Community Primary School

Tweseldown Infant school

Guillemont Junior

The following have decided on partial closures:

Woodlea Primary school - closed to years 3 and 4

Kings Furlong Junior - closed for two year 4 classes and one in year 5.

Wyvern Technology College - school not open for years 7,8 & 9


The following schools in Portsmouth have decided to close:

Admiral Lord Nelson
Arundel Court Infant
Arundel Court Junior
Charles Dickens Infant
City of Portsmouth Boys’
Cliffdale Primary
Court Lane Infant
Cumberland Infant
Isambard Brunel Junior
Lyndhurst Junior
Medina Primary
Milton Park
Northern Parade
Solent Infant
Stamshaw Junior
Westover Primary
Wimbourne Infant

The following schools have also advised they will be partially closed:

Charles Dickens Junior
Copnor Infant
Copnor Junior
Cottage Grove Primary
Craneswater Junior
Devonshire Infant
Newbridge Junior
Penhale Infant
Solent Junior
St Paul’s Catholic
St Swithin’s Catholic
Wimbourne Junior

To find out which schools in Southampton are closing, click here

To find out which schools on The Isle of Wight are closing, click here