New Year's Honours - Suffolk

28 December 2018, 22:30

OBE award

The honours include British Empire Medals (BEMs), which are awarded for service to the local community. This could be a long-term charitable or voluntary activity that has made a significant difference.

Those awarded OBEs have been recognised for having a major local role in any activity, including work which has made them known nationally in their chosen area.

And those given MBEs have been rewarded for an outstanding achievement or service to the community which will have had a long-term, significant impact.

The full list of those honoured in Suffolk is as follows:


Professor Doctor Stephen Phillip Dunn. Chief executive, West Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Health and to Patient Safety. (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk)

Brig Geoffrey Charles Van Orden, MBE, MEP. For political service. (Suffolk)


Patricia Shepperson. For services to Fundraising and to charity. (Hadleigh, Suffolk)


Michael John Bryant. For services to Young Boxers. (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk)

Dr Barbara Gale. Chief executive, St Nicholas Hospice Care Charity. For services to Hospice Care and the community in Suffolk. (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk)

Sylvia Doris Martin. For public and political service. (Hadleigh, Suffolk)

Jennifer Margaret Mullan. For services to Scouting and to Young People in Suffolk. (Sudbury, Suffolk)


Sally Ann Bendall. For services to the Agricultural Sector. (Semer, Suffolk)

Virginia Ann Shoesmith. Police Community Support Officer, Suffolk Constabulary. For services to Policing and the community in Ipswich. (Ipswich, Suffolk)