14 Of Essex's 19 MPs To Vote To Leave EU

23 February 2016, 06:37 | Updated: 23 February 2016, 10:47

EU and GB flag

13 of Essex's 19 MPs have told Heart they will vote for the UK to leave the European Union in June's referendum.

The country will go to the polls on Thursday, 23 June to decide on the country's membership.

Two thirds of the county's MPs are in favour of leaving however.

They include cabinet members Priti Patel (Witham) and John Whittingdale (Maldon), as well as the county's two newest MPs Colchester's Will Quince and Braintree's James Cleverly.

UKIP's only MP Douglas Carswell (Clacton) is also among the group.

Those who plan to vote to stay in the union include Chelmsford's Simon Burns and Brentwood and Ongar's Eric Pickles.

We have not heard back from Harlow's Rob Halfon but it has largely been reported he is also in favour of staying in the EU.

Jackie Doyle-Price (Thurrock) has told us she is undecided and is a "genuine floating voter".

The full list is as follows:


Sir David Amess (Southend West), John Baron (Basildon & Billericay), Douglas Carswell (Clacton), James Duddridge (Rochford & Southend East), Mark Francois (Rayleigh & Wickford), Rebecca Harris (Castle Point), Bernard Jenkin (Harwich & North Essex), Eleanor Laing (Epping Forest), Stephen Metcalfe (South Basildon and East Thurrock), Priti Patel (Witham), Will Quince (Colchester), Andrew Rossindell (Romford), John Whittingdale (Maldon).


Sir Simon Burns (Chelmsford), Robert Halfon (Harlow), Sir Alan Haselhurst (Saffron Walden), Sir Eric Pickles (Brentwood & Ongar).



Jackie Doyle-Price (Thurrock).