Essex Recognised In New Year's Honours List

31 December 2015, 07:06 | Updated: 31 December 2015, 07:10

Lucy Watts MBE

More than 30 people from Essex have been recognised in the New Year's Honours list.

Among them are Blur frontman Damon Albarn, who is from Colchester, and snooker player Ronnie O'Sullivan, from Chigwell, who have both been given OBEs.

22 year-old Lucy Watts from Benfleet has recieved an MBE.

She has Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, which affects her nerves and comes with complications that will shorten her life.

She has been recognised for the work she has done with other young people with health problems and disabilities.

She said it has come as a real surprise: "For me, thinking of other people is what keeps me going.

"To think that, at 22, I've been awarded an MBE is almost surreal, but it just cements to me that what I'm doing is worthwhile, it is making a difference.

"I went to tell my mum, I couldn't even tell her I just had to give her the letter and let her read it as I couldn't get the words out.

"I was in such shock, you know, little old me getting an MBE.

"In order for me to think my life has been worth it, I want to have other young people to experience good things and be able to live their lives as well".

The full list of those in Essex honoured is:


Jack Petchey, CBE. For services to Young People in East London and Essex through the Jack Petchey Foundation. (London)



Mrs Celia Ann Malcolm Edey. Non-Executive director, University Campus Suffolk. For services to Higher Education and the community in Essex and Suffolk. (Coggeshall, Essex)

Ronnie O'Sullivan. Professional Snooker Player. For services to Snooker. (Chigwell, Essex)

Dr Oliver John Shanley. Executive director, Quality and Safety, Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Mental Health and Disabilities Nursing. (Leigh on Sea, Essex)

Gary John Wilder. Executive Headteacher, Furze Warren Hard Federation, Romford. For services to Education. (Chelmsford, Essex)




Peter Robin Adams. Verderer, Epping Forest. For voluntary services to the Conservation of Flora and Fauna in South West Essex and East London. (Loughton, Essex)

Mrs Patricia Margaret Blackett Barber. For voluntary services to Armed Forces Heritage. (Essex)

Mrs Beverley Barclay. Director of Clinical Services, The J's Hospice, Essex. For services to Nursing, particularly Young Adults with Life-Limiting Conditions. (Kent)

David Anthony Blackiston. Formerly Grade 7, Corporate Services, Home Office. For services to Major Incident Administration. (Harwich, Essex)

Mrs Patricia Agnes Campfield. For charitable services to the community in Southend-on-Sea. (Southend-on-Sea, Essex)

Mrs Ann Marie Forbes. Teacher of Science, The Hertfordshire and Essex High School. For services to Education in the UK and Uganda. (Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire)

Ms Oluwayemisi Olivia Jenkins. Officer, Border Force, Home Office. For services to Border Security and Wellbeing in the Workplace. (Grays, Essex)

Tony Kwok Fai Law. President, South East Essex Chinese Association. For services to the Chinese Community in Southend. (Southend on Sea, Essex)

Ms Rowena MacAuley. Disability-Equality Champion, University of Essex. For services to Higher Education. (Colchester, Essex)

Nathan Wayne Munson. Detective Sergeant, Hazardous Substances Industry Engagement Officer, Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism, Home Office. For services to Counter-Terrorism. (Colchester, Essex)

Mrs Carol Nice. Founder, Stepping Stones Play and Learn Group, Colchester. For services to Children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities. (Colchester, Essex)

Shaun Rayner, JP. Magistrate and Chair, Essex Family Panel. For services to the Administration of Justice and the community in Essex. (Harlow, Essex)

Mrs Linda June Robinson. Co-Founder and Senior Co-ordinator, The Home-Start Scheme, Uttlesford. For services to Children and Families. (Saffron Walden, Essex)

Brian John Rolfe. For services to the community in Lawford and Tendring Essex. (Manningtree, Essex)

Dr Suresh Chandra Vasishtha. For services to the community in the London Borough of Redbridge. (Essex)

Mrs Valerie Villa. For services to the community in Chelmsford, Essex. (Chelmsford, Essex)

Miss Lucy Alexandria Watts. For services to Young People with Disabilities. (Benfleet, Essex)


Graeme Kendal Whippy. Senior manager, Group Disability Programme, Lloyds Banking Group. For services to People with Dementia and Disabilities. (Saffron Walden, Essex)

Mrs Pauline Marie Wilson. Headteacher, Ursuline Preparatory School, Essex. For services to Education. (Ongar, Essex)

Mrs Laura Margaret Logan Wood. For services to the community in Chelmsford, Essex. (Witham, Essex)




Charles Frederick Andrews. For voluntary service to the Poppy Appeal in London. (Essex)

Margaret Ann Lady Carter. For services to the community in Stock, Essex. (Ingatestone, Essex)

Mrs Sybil King. For services to the community in Thaxted, Essex. (Dunmow, Essex)

Brian Thomas O'Neill. Co-chairman, 3rd Regiment Royal Horse Artillery Past and Present Members Association. For voluntary service to Ex-Service Personnel. (Colchester, Essex)

Ivor Perl. For services to Holocaust Education. (Buckhurst Hill, Essex)

Mrs Barbara Jean Wilkins. Owner, Jack and Jill Pre-school, Essex. For services to Children and Families. (Southend on Sea, Essex)

Raymond Derek Wood. For services to the community in the London Borough of Redbridge. (Essex, IG1)




Mrs Lorraine Denise King. Deputy Clerk to the Lieutenancy of Essex.