Herts, Beds, Bucks & Northants Given Honours

30 December 2016, 22:30

OBE award

2016 Rio stars Ellie Robinson and Max Whitlock amongst those to be honoured by the Queen in the New Years Honours.

Olympic rowing cox Phelan Hill gets an MBE for services to Rowing, meanwhile fellow Rio star, Paralympic gold medallist Ellie Robinson gets an MBE for services to Swimming.

Paralympic gold medal archer at Rio Jess Stretton gets an MBE for services to Archery. 

It's another well deserved honour too for Max Whitlock - for services to gymnastics.


Kim Bromley-Derry from Bedfordshire. Chief executive. London Borough of Newham. For services to Local Government.

Alfred Hitchcock QPM from Bedfordshire. Chief Constable Ministry of Defence Police. For services to Defence and Policing.

Sascha Kindred OBE from Hertfordshire, for services to swimming.

Malcolm Newsam from Milton Keynes. Former Children's Social Care commissioner. Rotherham Borough Council. For services to Children's Social Care.

Alex Scott from Welwyn Garden City, England and Arsenal Ladies defender, for services to football.

Edward Webb from St Albans. Former Deputy director. Tissue Embryology, Donation and Sponsorship, Department of Health. For services to Health Science.

Professor Peter Weissberg from Thriplow, Herts. Former Medical director. British Heart Foundation. For services to Medical Research and Cardiovascular Health.

Dr Margaret Whalley, MBE from Rushton, Northants. Formerly director of Research Training and Development, Pen Green Training and Development Centre, Corby. For services to Education.


Dr Steven Chase in Brackley. Director of People. Thames Valley Police. For services to Policing. 

Elizabeth Houghton from Buckinghamshire. Co-founder and chief executive Officer. Mint Velvet. For services to Business and charity.

Catherine Large from Harpenden. Deputy chief executive Officer. Creative and Cultural Skills. For services to the Creative Economy.


Graham Cook from Hemel Hempstead. Manager. Albin International Repatriation. For services to the Armed Forces.

Yvonne Edwards from Collingtree. Former Governor, Northampton School for Boys. For services to Education.

Anthony Fenwick from Luton. Co-Chair. School's Out UK. For services to Equality in the Education Sector.

Michael Grant from Leighton Buzzard. For services to Conservation and the community in Billington. Bedfordshire.

Phelan Hill from Bedfordshire - for services to Rowing.

Deirdre Newham, JP, DL from Northampton. For services to the community.

Eleanor Robinson from Great Houghton. For services to Swimming.

Iris Sharman from Northants. For services to Young People and the community in Burton Latimer.

Susan Farrington Smith from Buckinghamshire. Chief executive, Brain Tumour Research. For services to Brain Tumour Research and Awareness Raising.

Frederick Sparrow from Beds. For services to the community in Clapham.

Jessica Stretton (Hemel Hempstead). For services to Archery.

Max Whitlock (Hemel Hempsted). For services to Gymnastics. 


Giles Barker from King's Langley. Chair. Staff Network Group for Disability Transport for London. For services to Transport in London and the Armed Forces Covenant.

Michael Clarke from Northants. For political service.

Angela Copson from Spratton in Northants. For services to Running.

Diane Croston from Hertfordshire. Chair of Governors. Morgans Primary School and Nursery Hertfordshire. For services to Education.

Jean Huggan from Milton Keynes. Volunteer, Milton Keynes Bereavement Service, Buckinghamshire. For services to Bereaved Families.

Ann Rudeforth from Wheathamstead. For services to the community in Wheathampstead.

Cynthia Stroud from Hertfordshire. Founder and director. Cakes by Cynthia and Pretty Gorgeous Cakes. For services to Business and the community in Hertfordshire.

Vera Thrussell from Pirton in Hertfordshire. For services to the community in Pirton.


Thames Valley Police constable Leslie Eke


Jason Thelwell. Chief Fire Officer and chief executive. Buckinghamshire Fire and Rescue Service.