New Year's Honours - Bedfordshire

28 December 2018, 22:30

OBE award

The honours include British Empire Medals (BEMs), which are awarded for service to the local community. This could be a long-term charitable or voluntary activity that has made a significant difference.

Those awarded OBEs have been recognised for having a major local role in any activity, including work which has made them known nationally in their chosen area.

And those given MBEs have been rewarded for an outstanding achievement or service to the community which will have had a long-term, significant impact.

The full list of those honoured in Bedfordshire is as follows:


Alastair Nathan Cook, CBE. For services to Cricket. (Bedfordshire)


Alison Jane Brittain. Chief executive, Whitbread plc. For services to Business. (Dunstable, Bedfordshire)

The Reverend Paula Anne Vennells. Chief executive, Post Office Ltd. For services to the Post Office and to charity. (Bedfordshire)


Sandra Olubunkunola Popoola. Head of Capability Building and Resourcing, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government. For services to Local Government and to charity. (Luton, Bedfordshire)


Richard Leon Gill. Formerly Police Officer, British Transport Police. For services to Policing. (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire)

Monojaha Polly Islam. For services to charity and to the UK Bangladeshi community. (Bedfordshire)

David Leonard Morgan. Volunteer Case Worker for the Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire Rural Support Group. For services to Vulnerable People. (Sandy, Bedfordshire)

Claire Suzanne Paul. Director, Leadership Development and New Talent, BBC. For services to Apprenticeships and Education. (Bedfordshire)

Louise Purser. ASYE Practice Assessor, Central Bedfordshire Council, and Volunteer, British Association of Social Workers and Learn to Care. For services to Children's Social Care. (Luton, Bedfordshire)


Ellen Dorothy Bassett. For services to Sport and to the community in Westoning, Bedfordshire. (Bedford, Bedfordshire)

Nerys Bell. HIVE Information Officer, RAF Henlow. For services to RAF Personnel and their Families. (Henlow, Bedfordshire)

Constable Richard Philip Moore. Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Policing. (Bedfordshire)

Anthony Talbot. For services to Sport and to the community in Luton. (Luton, Bedfordshire)

Edward Walter Wing. Retained Watch Commander, Biggleswade Fire Service. For services to the Fire and Rescue Service. (Biggleswade, Bedfordshire)