OBE For Ex Kent Police Inspector

30 December 2017, 07:17 | Updated: 30 December 2017, 07:20

Ex Kent Police Joe Holness

A former Kent Police Inspector is to be recognised in the New Year's Honours List.

Joe Holness, who retired in July 2017 after a policing career spanning 32 years* will be made an OBE for his work as founder of the National Police Memorial Day (NPMD).

Joe founded the NPMD in 2000 following the death of fellow Kent Police officer Jon Odell who was killed on duty at Margate on 19 December 2000.

PC Odell was carrying out road safety checks in Shottendane Road when he was hit by a car that failed to stop. The driver was subsequently charged with manslaughter and sentenced to nine years in prison. He was released in 2006.

The NPMD has become an important annual event which is supported by royalty, government and UK police services. The service attracts hundreds of people and is held in one of the four countries of the United Kingdom each year.

Joe said: "Following the sad death of my colleague, PC Jon Odell, I made enquiries with Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Constabulary which showed that since the first salaried constables were created by an act of parliament in 1792, more than 4,000 police officers have paid the ultimate sacrifice throughout the United Kingdom.

"I was determined that there should be a fitting annual day of remembrance to honour our fallen colleagues, to demonstrate that their sacrifice is not forgotten and to recognise the dedication to duty and courage displayed by police officers.

"I was thrilled, having managed to persuade HRH the Prince of Wales to be our patron, that he should be in attendance in my final service at St Paul's Cathedral in 2016 before retiring.

"The congregation was 2,000 strong and also included Amber Rudd the Home Secretary, police officers from 16 overseas countries, together with colleagues, friends and families from across the United Kingdom. A guard of honour of 80 police horses lined the route to Saint Pauls and NPAS (National Police Air Service) provided a fly past.

"I'm so pleased the National Police Memorial Day has become such an important annual event and I'm humbled and honoured to have my efforts rewarded in this way."

Joe was awarded the Queens Police Medal (QPM) in the 2008 Honours List, and his wife Sharon was awarded an MBE in last year's awards for her role as deputy co-ordinator of the NPMD.

The OBE is also in recognition of his work in re-establishing Kent Police's Gypsy Liaison Team which has built closer links between the police and gypsy and traveller communities.

Here's a list of all the Kent residents who are getting Honours...


Howard Charles Fraser Riddle. Formerly Senior District Judge (chief magistrate) for England and Wales. For services to the Administration of Justice. (Kent)
David James Edwin Stephens. Director of Resources (Army), HM Armed Forces, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence. (Kent)


Ms Sarah Alexander. Chief executive and artistic director, National Youth Orchestra. For services to Music. (Tunbridge Wells, Kent)
Nicholas Byron Drinkal. Deputy director, Border Force, Home Office. For services to Border Security in Calais and Dunkirk. (Dover, Kent)
Ian Trevor Edwards. Executive vice president, Spectrum Geo. For services to the UK Oil and Gas Exploration Industry. (Kent)
Joseph Holness, QPM. Formerly Inspector, Kent Police. For services to Policing and the National Police Memorial Day. (Folkstone, Kent)
Ralph Christopher Hoult. For services to the community in Ramsgate Kent. (Ramsgate, Kent)
Ms Stephanie Jane Karpetas. Founder and director, Sustainability Connections CIC, and director, Orchard Community Energy. For services to the community in East Kent. (Folkestone, Kent)
Ms Samenua Sesher. Coach and Culture Management consultant. For services to Art. (Folkestone, Kent)


Ms Karyn Dunning. Head of detained casework immigration enforcement, Home Office. For services to Asylum and Humanitarian Operations. (Kent)
Mrs Carolyn Anne McVittie. Managing director, Stepahead. For services to Children and Families. (Ashford, Kent)
Robert Henry Bagley. For services to Disadvantaged Children and the community in Canterbury. (Canterbury, Kent)


Mrs Sandra Jane Booer. For services to Music and the community in Dartford. (Dartford, Kent)
Ms Wendy Elizabeth Daws. For voluntary service to Visually Impaired People in North Kent. (Rochester, Kent)
Mrs Anne Danson Forbes. Refugee Resettlement Co-ordinator, Ashford Borough Council. For services to the Resettlement of Syrian Refugees in the UK. (Ashford, Kent)
Dr Norman Wesley Francis Berkeley Hill. For services to Music in Kent.
Mrs Alison Margaret Reynolds. For services to community Sport in Kent. (Faversham, Kent)
John Charles Thompson. Administrative Officer, Detection Technology Management Unit, Border Force South and Europe, Home Office. For services to Border Security. (Dover, Kent)