How To Find Out If Someone Has Blocked You On Social Media
9 March 2018, 17:13 | Updated: 12 July 2018, 13:59
If you suspect you're the victim of blocking on the likes of Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram, Twitter or Snapchat, here are the ways to find out the truth!
There might be an old friend or colleague that you never speak to, but love to have on social media to find out about what's going on their lives.
(Let's be honest, we all have one of those in our friends lists.)
But then, all of a sudden, their updates disappear from your timeline and you're left scratching your head as to whether they've blocked you or not.
Well there are ways to find out!
If you think someone's blocked you on Facebook, search out a mutual friend that the two of you would have. Once you're on their profile, click 'See All' under their friends tab, and you can use the search field to see who they've got in their friends list.
However, this might just mean they've deactivated their account for whatever reason, so an ultra fool-proof way to get a definitive answer is find an old conversation with that person on Facebook messenger.
If the name of that person is in bold and you can't click their name, they've blocked you. You can try and send them a message, but it will say there's an error.
If they've just deactivated their account, it will say 'Facebook User' rather than display their name.
Open the app and try to find the person's profile in the search bar. Once you've found it, click on it, and if there's no 'follow' option, then you've been blocked.
If you're really into it, you can download an app called Unfollowgram, which will tell you exactly that.
Login to your account and type the person's twitter handle in the search bar. If their profile appears and says 'follow' even though you thought you already were following them, it means that they blocked you at some point in time.
If you hit 'follow' again, Twitter will tell you that you're still blocked and are unable to follow the account.
When someone blocks you, you can't see their profile picture anymore, or when they were last online. If you try and send them a message, the tick will only remain singular and grey in colour, as opposed to the two grey ticks that signify delivered and two blue ticks that indicate read. If you try and WhatsApp call them, it won't connect.
If someone blocks you on Snapchat, they'll disappear from your contacts list, and even if you try and search for them through the app, you won't be able to locate them.
If someone deletes you, they'll still appear in your contacts, and if you send them a snap it will just say 'delivered'.
So next time you think a 'friend' ain't your friend no more - it's time to get detective!
WATCH! Yes Or No? World's First Engagement Phone Case: