What countries are on the green list and what are the rules for travel?

17 May 2021, 16:46 | Updated: 17 May 2021, 16:54

What countries are on the green list?
What countries are on the green list? Picture: PA/Getty
Polly Foreman

By Polly Foreman

What countries are on the green list for safe travel and what are the rules for holiday-makers?

Since Monday May 17, some foreign travel has been permitted for people living in England, Scotland and Wales.

Holidaymakers are subject to strict rules, however, and there are currently only 12 countries on the 'green list' that people can visit without having to quarantine on their return.

Read more: When is the next green list review?

Not all of these countries are allowing overseas visitors, and it is up to people to check on the rules for their desired destination before booking.

Here's your need-to-know on what countries are on the green list, and what the rules are.

There are currently 12 countries on the green list
There are currently 12 countries on the green list. Picture: PA

Read more: Covid scientist says UK could be 'completely back to normal' by the end of the year

What countries are on the green list?

The following countries are currently on the green list:

  1. Portugal
  2. Australia
  3. New Zealand
  4. Singapore
  5. Brunei
  6. Iceland
  7. Faroe Islands
  8. Gibraltar
  9. Falkland Islands
  10. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  11. Saint Helena Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  12. Israel

Some of the countries on the list are not allowing visitors from abroad, so it is advised to check on a country's restrictions before planning a holiday.

The government also advised that you ensure your holiday booking is refundable in case the Covid restrictions change.

What are the rules for visiting green list countries?

If you are visiting a green list country, you must take the following steps before returning to England:

  • Take a Covid test and have proof of a negative result
  • Book and pay for a test for day two after your return
  • Complete a passenger locator form

You will not need to quarantine on your return home unless the test you take on day two is positive, or unless told to do so by Track and Trace.

When announcing the green list, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said that it is 'necessarily cautious', adding that "we must make sure the countries we reconnect with are safe."


Finland and Malta among the new countries that 'could be added to the green list'