Coldplay release album setlist in several local newspapers

23 October 2019, 21:04 | Updated: 24 October 2019, 14:09

Coldplay have unveiled their new album track listing in classified advert in several local newspapers.

The band, whose new album Everyday Life is out on 22 November, released the song list in the North Wales Daily Post and, in a nod to the birthplace of frontman Chris Martin, Exeter's Express and Echo.

According to Rolling Stone, adverts with the tracklist also appeared in Melbourne's The Age, Chinese-language paper Sin Chew Daily and France's Le Monde.

Lead guitarist Jonny Buckland tweeted from the band's account on Wednesday, explaining: "I once had a holiday job at the Daily Post, placing photos of houses for sale. I wasn't very good at it."

Though born in North London, Buckland grew up in Flintshire, Wales.

The band dropped a hint about the unorthodox method of release when they announced the album earlier this week on Twitter.

Posting a photo of a letter addressed to "dear friends", they teased: "In the classifieds you might write, double album for sale, one very careful owner."

The typed letter had been sent to some select fans of the band, who shared theirs on Twitter.

The Daily Post revealed the tracklist ad appeared alongside items for sale including a fridge freezer and a bale of hay, and below a Welsh Government public notice.

:: Listen to the Backstage podcast on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Spreaker

Songs include Sunrise, Church, Cry Cry Cry, and Old Friends.

Coldplay's last album, A Head Full of Dreams, came out in 2015.