Your Northants general election guide

There are more than 30 schools closed across the county today because they have polling stations on site. Our general election guide follows below.

The county council say the following schools are closed today:

Abington Vale Primary School
Barton Seagrave Primary School
Brambleside Community Primary School
Bramptons Primary School
Broughton Primary School
Chiltern Primary School
East Hunsbury Primary School
Finedon Infant School This school is closed today. 
Freemans C of E Endowed Junior School
Gloucester Nursery School
Hardwick Junior School
Hawthorn Community Primary School
Kings Meadow School
Kingsthorpe Village Primary School
Loatlands Primary School
Lumbertubs Primary School
Lyncrest Primary School
Maplefields School This school is closed today. Reason: ONLY our Kettering site is closed as the school will be used for a polling station. Our Corby site WILL be open to pupils.
Millbrook Infant School
Newton Road Primary School
Oakway Infant School 
Our Lady's Catholic Infant School
Park Infant School (Kettering)
South End Junior School
St Andrews CEVA Primary School 
St Thomas More Catholic Primary School
Tennyson Road Infant School
The Abbey Primary School
The Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School
Wilby C of E V A Primary School
Windmill Primary School, Raunds



If you hadn't already heard, this year saw the Boundary Commission change constituencies around Northamptonshire when they made a new seat in South Northants. Here's Heart's guide to what these changes mean and who's standing in your area.


There's no changes to the boundaries for the Corby constituency this time around - it covers the borough of Corby and rural areas of East Northamptonshire Council . Here's the candidates that are standing in the area:

 - Louise Bagshawe (Conservative)

 - Roy Richard Davies (British National Party)

 - Phil Hope (Labour)

 - Portia Wilson (Liberal Democrats)


The Daventry seat is to be split this year - the northern area will remain part of the Daventry constituency and the southern area will become South Northants. Daventry's new boundaries will run from south west from Great Oxendon, (west of Kettering), to Daventry, before turning south east to Bugbrooke. From there, they run north east to the Sywell Reservoir, (north of Wellingborough), before turning north west back to Great Oxendon. The candidates standing in Daventry are:

 - Alan Bennett-Spencer (English Democrats)

 - Jim Broomfield (UKIP)

 - Paul Corazzo (Labour)

 - Chris Heaton-Harris (Conservative)

 - Christopher George McGlynn (Liberal Democrats)

 - Steve Whiffen (Green Party)


Kettering is another constituency to be affected by the Boundary Commission's changes. The new boundaries have been introduced to allow for the new South Northants constituency. Kettering's new boundaries will run south east from Stoke Albany to Rothwell before turning east to Kettering. From there they will run north to Gettington before turning north east back to Stoke Albany. The candidates standing in Kettering are:

 - Dave Bishop (Bus-Pass Elvis Party)

 - Derek Hilling (English Democrats)

 - Philip Hollobone (Conservative)

 - Chris Nelson (Liberal Democrats)

 - Phil Sawford (Labour)

 - Clive Richard Skinner (British National Party)

Northampton North

Northampton North is also affected by the changes made to include the new South Northants constituency. Areas now covered by Northampton North are: Kings Heath, Spencer, Kingsley, Kingsthorpe, Links View, Moulton Leys, Parklands, Spinney Hill, Abington, Eastfield, Boothville, Westone, Arbours,  Southfields, Thorplands, Blackthorn, and Rectory Farm.  The candidates standing for Northampton North are:

 - Ray Beasley (British National Party)

 - Michael Ellis (Conservative)

 - Eamonn 'Fitzy' Fitzpatrick (Independent)

 - Sally Keeble (Labour)

 - Anthony Locmuller (Green)

 - Jim MacArhthur (UKIP)

 - Malcom Mildren (Independent)

 - Andrew Simpson (Liberal Democrats)

 - Timothy Webb (The Christian Party)

Northampton South

Northampton South is also afffected by the introduction of the new South Northants Constituency. It's made up of: Billing, Castle, Delapre, Ecton Brook, New Duston, Old Duston, St Crispin, St James, Spencer and Weston. Here's the candidates who are standing in Northampton South:

 - Brian Binley (Conservative)

 - Derek Clark (UKIP)

 - Tony Clarke (Independent)

 - Liam Costello (Scrap Members Allowances)

 - Dave Green (Northampton - Save Our Public Services)

 - Julie Hawkins (Green)

 - Clyde Loakes (Labour)

 - Kevin Sills (English Democrats)

 - Paul Varnsverry (Liberal Democrats)

 - Kevin Willsher (Independent)

South Northants

South Northamptonshire is the new constituency created by the Boundary Commission. Its borders run south from Little Houghton to Old Stratford, before heading north west to Towcester. From Towcester, the borders will run south west past Silverstone and Brackley, before heading north west to Culworth near the River Cherwell. From there, they run north east back to Little Houghton.

 - Scott Collins (Liberal Democrats)

 - Andrea Leadsom (Conservative)

 - Barry Mahoney (UKIP)

 - Matthew May (Labour)

 - Marcus Rock (Green)

 - Tony Tappy (English Democrats)


Wellingborough is another constituency to be affected by the creation of South Northants. Its new borders will run south from the town of Wellingborough through Wollaston to Bozeat. From there, the borders will head back north to Irchester, before turning east to Rushden. From Rushden, they will run north to Higham Ferrers, before running back west to Wellingborough.

 - Kevin Barron (Liberal Democrats)

 - Peter Bone (Conservative)

 - Jayne Buckland (Labour)

 - Paul Crofts (Trade Unionist and Socialist candidate)

 - Gary Donaldson (Independent)

 - Adrian Haynes (UKIP)

 - Jonathon Hornett (Green)

 - Marcus Lavin (Independent)

 - Terry Spencer (English Democrats)

 - Robert Walker (BNP)