North East Names Awarded Queen's Birthday Honours

16 June 2017, 22:30

The Queen

More than 30 people from the North East have been recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

As well as those recognised across the region, the policeman killed after confronting the Westminster attacker outside Parliament and the heroic passer-by stabbed trying to protect MP Jo Cox have been awarded medals for their bravery.

Their recognition came as comedian Billy Connolly was given a knighthood and actress Julie Walters was made a dame in this year's Queen's Birthday Honours.

Oscar-winner Olivia de Havilland, who turns 101 next month, is the oldest woman to become a dame in this centenary year of the modern-day honours system.

Those honoured from the world of entertainment include chart-topper Ed Sheeran and comedian David Walliams, with the honours committee describing the list as the most diverse yet.

Sheeran, 26, receives an MBE for services to music and charity, as does singer Emeli Sande, for services to music.

Police Constable Keith Palmer, who was stabbed to death by attacker Khalid Masood in March on the forecourt of the Palace of Westminster, is posthumously awarded the George Medal for confronting an armed terrorist to protect others and Parliament.

Bernard Kenny, who was stabbed in the abdomen as he tried to stop neo-Nazi Thomas Mair attacking Mrs Cox outside her constituency surgery in Yorkshire, receives the George Medal one year on from the murder.

Two West Yorkshire Police officers, Pc Craig Nicholls and Pc Jonathan Wright, who arrested Mair are awarded the Queen's Gallantry Medal.

Here's the list of people from the North East who've been awarded honours: 


Professor Carlos Silvestre Frenk. Ogden Professor of Fundamental Physics Durham University. For services to Cosmology and the Public Dissemination of Basic Science. (Durham)

Mrs Barbara Joan Gubbins, DL. Chief executive, County Durham Community Foundation. For services to the Voluntary and Community Sectors. (Meadowfield, Durham)

Dr Gordon Christopher Horsfield. For services to Young People and to Charitable Giving. (Brandsby, North Yorkshire)

Professor Graham Andrew Leslie. Visiting Professor of Enterprise and Entrepreneurship Huddersfield University. For services to Entrepreneurship. (Holmfirth, West Yorkshire)

Mrs Lesley Anne Powell. Chief executive Officer, North East Learning Trust, Principal, Shotton Hall Academy and Member of the Headteacher Board for the North. For services to Education. (Chester-le-Street, Durham)

Thomas Hurst. Chief Investment Officer Sunderland City Council. For services to Local Government and Economic Prosperity through Inward Investment. (Stockton on Tees, Durham)

Ms Beverley Rose Robinson. Principal and chief executive Blackpool and the Fylde College. For services to Further Education. (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Professor David Roy Sandbach. Director National Innovation Centre for Ageing, Newcastle University. For services to Science, Innovation and Skills. (Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Peter Stout. For services to Young People and to the community in the North East. (Gateshead, Tyne and Wear)

Professor Jane Margaret Turner. Pro vice-Chancellor for Enterprise and Business Engagement Teesside University. For services to Business Engagement. (Consett, Durham)

Peter Alan Blyth. Higher Executive Officer Ministry of Defence. For services to the Reserve Forces and Cadets on Tyneside. (Sunderland, Tyne and Wear)

Capt Jeremy Leslie Drewitt. Formerly Harbour Master PD Ports Limited. For services to the welfare of Seafarers on Teesside. (Saltburn, North Yorkshire)

Mrs Jean Edusei. For services to Girlguiding and to Young People in Ghana. (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Mrs Bethan Zoe Harding. Headteacher, Herbert Thompson Primary School, Cardiff. For services to Education. (Morpeth, Northumberland)

Barry Hudson. For voluntary service to the community and Rowing. (High Shincliffe, Durham)

Mrs Louise Hunter. Director of Corporate Affairs, Northumbrian Water Group. For services to Business Practice and Corporate Responsibility. (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Brian Jones. For services to Glassblowing. (Sunderland, Tyne and Wear)

Vikas Kumar. For services to the Arts and Culture. (Gateshead, Tyne and Wear)

Ms Catrina Ann McHugh. For services to Disadvantaged Women through Theatre. (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Jonathan Charles Rushton. For services to Mountain and Cave Rescue in North Yorkshire. (Bedale, North Yorkshire)

Grahame Shepherd. Chairman Service Children in State Schools. For voluntary service to the Children of Military Personnel. (Bedale, North Yorkshire)

Ms Amanda Jane Southwick. Principal Marchbank Free School, Darlington, County Durham. For services to Education. (Darlington, Durham)

Dr Shobba Srivastava. For voluntary service to Community Cohesion in North East England. (South Shields, Tyne and Wear)

Miss Kate Wickham. Managing director GATE7 Ltd. For services to Exports and Outward Investments. (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Mrs Morag Allan Coates. For services to Young People in Darlington. (Darlington, Durham)

Mrs Zoe Frais. For services to Young People and the community in Alnwick, Northumberland. (Alnwick, Northumberland)

Mrs Louisa Esther Harbottle. Prison Visitor, HM Prison Frankland. For services to Prisoners. (Blaydon, Tyne and Wear)

Ian Johnson. For services to the community in Skelton North Yorkshire. (Saltburn, North Yorkshire)

Mrs Barbara Liddle Mortimer. Formerly secretary, Gateshead Division, SSAFA. For voluntary service to ex-Service Personnel. (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Dennis Taylor. Higher Executive Officer Programme Management Officer, Data Science, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to the Department for Work and Pensions Digital Group and Charitable Fundraising. (Fellgate, Tyne and Wear)

Hugh Tulip. For services to Cricket and the community. (Alnwick, Northumberland)

Mrs Maureen Violet Wallwork. For services to the community in Washington, Tyne and Wear. (Washington, Tyne and Wear)

Mrs Karen Warner. Detective Inspector, North Yorkshire Police.

Paul Liversidge. Director North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust.