British Soap Award Shortlist Is Announced But There's Disappointment For Eastenders

9 May 2017, 10:45 | Updated: 14 July 2017, 11:11

Eastenders line-up canvas

It's a fierce battle between the U.K's best soaps, but who will come out on top on the night?

Eastenders might be one of the most popular shows on television but they failed to land a nomination in one of the biggest categories of the night at the British Soap Awards.

The likes of Danny Dyer, Davood Ghadami, Scott Maslen have taken centre stage in Albert Square with some explosive storylines over the last year but neither managed to get a nod for Best Actor.

Despite the snub, Eastenders has still managed to clock up nominations in other categories with the deaths of Ronnie and Roxy as well as Lee's mental health storyline all gaining recognition.

Read more: The Trailer For Kat And Alfie's Spin-Off Has Been Revealed

Elsewhere, Emmerdale's Ashley's emotional dementia storyline had earned a nomination for John Middleton and Charlotte Bellamy, while the loss of Michelle's baby on Coronation Street sees Kym Marsh and Simon Gregson up for two awards.

Hollyoaks is also hot on the heels of primetime soaps, with Jamie Lomas and Gregory Finnegan both featuring in the Best Actor category - a feat which with have Eastenders green with envy.

Read more: Is An Emmerdale Max Exodus On The Way?  

The British Soap Awards will return to ITV on Saturday 3 June and will be broadcast live for the first time in the show's history. The 19th annual awards will take place in Manchester at the Lowry Theatre and will be hosted by Phillip Schofield.

The Nominations

Viewer Voted Categories:


BEST BRITISH SOAP (Last year’s winner was Emmerdale)


Coronation Street






BEST ACTOR (Last year’s winner was Danny Miller – Emmerdale)


Coronation Street:               Jack P Shepherd                   (David Platt)

Emmerdale:                          Danny Miller                         (Aaron Dingle)

Emmerdale:                          John Middleton                    (Ashley Thomas)

Hollyoaks:                             Jamie Lomas                         (Warren Fox)

Hollyoaks:                             Gregory Finnegan                (James Nightingale)


BEST ACTRESS (Last year’s winner was Lacey Turner - EastEnders)


Coronation Street:               Kym Marsh                             (Michelle Connor)

Coronation Street:               Lucy Fallon                            (Bethany Platt)

EastEnders:                           Lacey Turner                          (Stacey Fowler)

Emmerdale:                          Charlotte Bellamy                (Laurel Thomas)

Hollyoaks:                             Anna Passey                         (Sienna Blake)


Panel Voted Categories:


VILLAIN OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was Connor McIntyre – Coronation Street)


Coronation Street:               Connor McIntyre                   (Pat Phelan)

Doctors:                                 Lucy-Jo Hudson                    (Rhiannon Davis)

EastEnders:                           Jake Wood                            (Max Branning)

Emmerdale:                          Gillian Kearney                    (Emma Barton)

Hollyoaks:                             Persephone Swales-Dawson        (Nico Blake)


BEST COMEDY PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Patti Clare – Coronation Street)


Coronation Street:               Dolly-Rose Campbell                      (Gemma Winter)

Doctors:                                 Elisabeth Dermot Walsh    (Dr Zara Carmichael)

EastEnders:                           Tameka Empson                  (Kim Fox-Hubbard)

Emmerdale:                          Dominic Brunt                                  (Paddy Kirk)

Hollyoaks:                             Nicole

Barber Lane

              (Myra McQueen)       



BEST NEWCOMER (Last year’s winner was Bonnie Langford – EastEnders)


Coronation Street:               Rob Mallard                          (Dan Osbourne)

Doctors:                                 Ritu


                                (Dr Megan Sharma)

EastEnders:                           Zack Morris                           (Keegan Baker)          

Emmerdale:                          Sally Dexter                           (Faith Dingle)

Hollyoaks:                             Duncan James                                  (Ryan Knight)


BEST STORYLINE (Last year’s winner was Stacey’s Postpartum Psychosis – EastEnders)


Coronation Street:               The Grooming of Bethany 

Doctors:                                 Rhiannon’s Second Chance

EastEnders:                           Lee’s Mental Health

Emmerdale:                          Ashley’s Dementia

Hollyoaks:                             Teenage Cancer


BEST SINGLE EPISODE (Last year’s winner was Doctors – The Heart of England)


Coronation Street:               Kylie’s Death

Doctors:                                 A Christmas Carol

EastEnders:                           Lee On The Edge

Emmerdale:                          Ashley’s Point Of View

Hollyoaks:                             What Is Consent?


BEST MALE DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Danny Miller – Emmerdale)


Coronation Street:               Simon Gregson                     (Steve McDonald)

Doctors:                                 Ian Midlane                          (Dr Al Haskey)

EastEnders:                           Steve McFadden                   (Phil Mitchell)

Emmerdale:                          John Middleton                    (Ashley Thomas)

Hollyoaks:                             Kieron Richardson               (Ste Hay)        


BEST FEMALE DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Lacey Turner – EastEnders)


Coronation Street:               Kym Marsh                             (Michelle Connor)

Doctors:                                 Dido Miles                            (Dr Emma Reid)

EastEnders:                           Diane Parish                         (Denise Fox)

Emmerdale:                          Charlotte Bellamy                (Laurel Thomas)

Hollyoaks:                             Nadine Mulkerrin                (Cleo McQueen)         






BEST ON-SCREEN PARTNERSHIP (Last year’s winners were Sally Dynevor & Joe Duttine – Coronation Street)


Coronation Street:               Malcolm Hebden & Patti Clare

                                                (Norris Cole & Mary Taylor)

Doctors:                                 Matthew Chambers & Elisabeth Dermot Walsh

                                                (Dr Daniel Granger & Dr Zara Carmichael)

EastEnders:                           James Bye & Lacey Turner

                                                (Martin & Stacey Fowler)

Emmerdale:                          John Middleton & Charlotte Bellamy

                                                (Ashley & Laurel Thomas)

Hollyoaks:                             Richard Linnell & Kassius Nelson

                                                (Alfie Nightingale & Jade Albright)                                                                           

BEST YOUNG ACTOR (Last year’s winner was Ruby O’Donnell – Hollyoaks)


Coronation Street:               Elle Mulvaney                                   (Amy Barlow)

EastEnders:                           Bleu Landau                         (Dennis Rickman)

Emmerdale:                          Isobel Steele                                    (Liv Flaherty)

Hollyoaks:                             Ela May Demircan                (Leah Barnes)            


SCENE OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was Val’s Death – Emmerdale)


Coronation Street:               Michelle’s Goodbye To Ruairi      

Doctors:                                 Haunted By His Voices

EastEnders:                           Ronnie & Ronnie’s Exit

Emmerdale:                          The Hotten Bypass Pile Up

Hollyoaks:                             Jade Says Goodbye To Alfie