Marine Conservation Zones Created On The South Coast

Four new Marine Conservation Zones have been created on the South Coast.

The government's announced the location for 27 marine conservation zones, covering 9,700 square kilometres from the Aln estuary in the north-east to Beachy Head in the south and Padstow Bay and the Scilly Isles in the south-west.

On the south coast, the four new areas are Poole Rocks, Chesil Beach, South Dorset and Pagham Harbour near Chichester.

It'll mean extra protection for marine wildlife by restricting activities like diving and fishing.

The Government had originally planned 127 zones.

The chief executive of the National Federation of Fishermen's Organisations, Barrie Deas, said:

"The fishing industry welcomes today's announcement that the Government has elected to continue building a network of marine protected areas using a scientific and phased approach.

"Today's decision confirms the Government has balanced scientific information on vulnerable habitats, with data on the socio-economic consequences of applying management measures within each designated zone to find a solution which brings benefits to all."

Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Sian Welby

7pm - 10pm

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Sian Welby
  • Ace Of Base All That She Wants



  • Ed Sheeran Shape Of You


  • Lost Frequencies Are You With Me


  • Calum Scott Dancing On My Own (Tiesto Remix)


Stay tuned...

Watch heart TV

  • Now playing: The best feel good music

Heart VIP


Autumn Weather

Find your local four day weather report here.

Listening To Radio Win With Heart

Make Heart the soundtrack to your day and you could be a winner with great prizes up for grabs throughout the day.

Advertise Advertise in Dorset

Get some great ideas on how to advertise your business on radio, online and on mobile.

Follow Heart on Twitter