Olympic Torch Tour

Details have been revealed of the route the Olympic torch is going to take ahead of the London Games in 2012.

Among the places the torch will be calling at during its two month tour is Luton, where there will be an evening celebration on Sunday 8 July 2012.  Having been to Cambridge, the torch will then move on to Oxford before finally arriving at the London Olympic Stadium for the Opening Ceremony on Friday 27 July 2012.

As part of Luton's celebrations, there will be a special weekend-long Cultural Festival, which will include the Luton International Carnival, which will move from its traditional date in May.  The Luton Mela will also switch from its usual late summer date to also take place on Sunday 8 July 2012.

The Olympic Flame will arrive in the UK from Greece on Friday 18 May 2012 and the 70-day Torch Relay will start at Land’s End, Cornwall, on the morning of the 19 May 2012. On leaving Land’s End, the Olympic Flame is expected to travel an estimated 8,000 miles across the UK, giving thousands of communities and individuals their moment to shine as the Olympic Flame comes to their doorstep. The Olympic Flame will arrive at the Olympic Stadium on 27 July 2012 for the lighting of the cauldron at the Opening Ceremony, signifying the start of the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Luton Borough Council leader Hazel Simmons said: "Everyone in Luton is tremendously excited that the Olympic Torch Relay will visit our borough next July.

"The Bedfordshire Olympic Opportunities Support Team worked extremely hard to bring the London 2012 Olympic Torch Relay to Luton and, along with our bid for city status, it’s another fantastic opportunity to raise our profile, demonstrate the positive diversity that we offer and the regeneration that is taking place, and really put Luton on the map.

"Our plans for the Cultural Festival are still at a very early stage but already we can promise an amazing weekend for Luton like none other in its long and proud history.”
 
Games organiser Sebastian Coe said: "We are thrilled that Luton has agreed to host the Olympic Flame on its journey right across the UK. The Olympic Flame will shine a light right across Luton, celebrating the culture and heritage of the area and showcasing the very best of Luton. We have no doubt that the welcome Luton will provide will demonstrate how the spirit of the Olympic Games is reaching out across the UK and excitement builds as the start of the 2012 Games draws closer."

The Olympic Flame will be carried across the UK by 8,000 inspirational Torchbearers and, once the detailed daily route is confirmed later this year, it is the aim that 95 per cent population will be within a one-hour journey time of the London 2012 Olympic Torch Relay.

In addition to the locations confirmed on the route on 18 May 2011, many other cities, towns, villages and places of outstanding natural beauty, sports venues and community hubs will be announced in a second, more detailed route announcement later this year that will confirm the many other places the Olympic Flame will visit on each day of the Relay.  

 

2012 Olympic torch tour details

Sat 19 May Land's End South West Start point.

Sat 19 May Plymouth South West Evening Celebration.

Sun 20 May Exeter South West Evening Celebration.

Mon 21 May Taunton South West Evening Celebration.

Tue 22 May Bristol South West Evening Celebration.

Wed 23 May Cheltenham South West Evening Celebration.

Thu 24 May Worcester West Midlands Evening Celebration.

Fri 25 May Cardiff Wales Evening Celebration.

Sat 26 May Swansea Wales Evening Celebration.

Sun 27 May Aberystwyth Wales Evening Celebration.

Mon 28 May Bangor Wales Evening Celebration.

Tue 29 May Chester North West Evening Celebration.

Wed 30 May Stoke on Trent West Midlands Evening Celebration.

Thu 31 May Bolton North West Evening Celebration.

Fri 1 June Liverpool North West Evening Celebration.

Sat 2 June Isle of Man North West Island Visit.

Sun 3 June Portrush Northern Ireland Evening Celebration.  

Mon 4 June Derry-Londonderry Northern Ireland Evening Celebration.

Tue 5 June Newry Northern Ireland Evening Celebration.

Wed 6 June Belfast Northern Ireland Evening Celebration.  

Fri 8 June Glasgow Scotland Evening Celebration.  

Sat 9 June Inverness Scotland Evening Celebration.

Sun 10 June Orkney Scotland Island Visit.

Sun 10 June Shetland Scotland Island Visit.  

Mon 11 June Isle of Lewis Scotland Island Visit.

Mon 11 June Aberdeen Scotland Evening Celebration.

Tue 12 June Dundee Scotland Evening Celebration.

Wed 13 June Edinburgh Scotland Evening Celebration.

Thu 14 June Alnwick North East Evening Celebration.

Fri 15 June Newcastle North East Evening Celebration.

Sat 16 June Durham North East Evening Celebration.

Sun 17 June Middlesbrough North East Evening Celebration.

Mon 18 June Hull Yorkshire and Humber Evening Celebration.  

Tue 19 June York Yorkshire and Humber Evening Celebration.

Wed 20 June Carlisle North West Evening Celebration.  

Thu 21 June Bowness-on-Windermere North West Evening Celebration.

Fri 22 June Blackpool North West Evening Celebration.

Sat 23 June Manchester North West Evening Celebration.

Sun 24 June Leeds Yorkshire and Humber Evening Celebration.

Mon 25 June Sheffield Yorkshire and Humber Evening Celebration.

Tue 26 June Cleethorpes Yorkshire and Humber Evening Celebration.

Wed 27 June Lincoln East Midlands Evening Celebration.

Thu 28 June Nottingham East Midlands Evening Celebration.  

Fri 29 June Derby East Midlands Evening Celebration.

Sat 30 June Birmingham West Midlands Evening Celebration.  

Sun 1 July Coventry West Midlands Evening Celebration.

Mon 2 July Leicester East Midlands Evening Celebration.

Tue 3 July Peterborough East of England Evening Celebration.

Wed 4 July Norwich East of England Evening Celebration.

Thu 5 July Ipswich East of England Evening Celebration.

Fri 6 July Chelmsford East of England Evening Celebration.  

Sat 7 July Cambridge East of England Evening Celebration.

Sun 8 July Luton East of England Evening Celebration.

Mon 9 July Oxford South East Evening Celebration.

Tue 10 July Reading South East Evening Celebration.

Wed 11 July Salisbury South West Evening Celebration.

Thu 12 July Weymouth and Portland South West Evening Celebration.

Fri 13 July Bournemouth South West Evening Celebration.

Sat 14 July Southampton South East Evening Celebration.

Sun 15 July Guernsey South East Island Visit.

Sun 15 July Jersey South East Island Visit.

Sun 15 July Portsmouth South East Evening Celebration.

Mon 16 July Brighton and Hove South East Evening Celebration.

Tue 17 July Hastings South East Evening Celebration.

Wed 18 July Dover South East Evening Celebration.

Thu 19 July Maidstone South East Evening Celebration.  

Fri 20 July Guildford South East Evening Celebration.

Sat 21 July Waltham Forest London Evening Celebration.

Sun 22 July Bexley London Evening Celebration.

Mon 23 July Wandsworth London Evening Celebration.

 Tue 24 July Ealing London Evening Celebration.

Wed 25 July Haringey London Evening Celebration.  

Thu 26 July Westminster London Evening Celebration.  

Fri 27 July Opening Ceremony, Olympic Stadium London End point.

Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Club Classics with Mark Wright

7pm - 9pm

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Club Classics with Mark Wright

On TV: Karaoke Christmas!

7pm - 9pm

Watch heart TV

  • Jona Lewie Stop The Cavalry

    20:36

    iTunes

  • East 17 Stay Another Day

    20:32

    iTunes

  • Shakin' Stevens Merry Christmas Everyone

    20:28

    iTunes

  • Michael Buble Baby It's Cold Outside

    20:22

    iTunes

Heart VIP

Local

Autumn Weather

Find your local four day weather report here.

Listening To Radio Win With Heart

Make Heart the soundtrack to your day and you could be a winner with great prizes up for grabs throughout the day.

Follow Heart on Twitter