26 Towns Apply For City Status

Three Essex towns are among 26 which have applied for city status as part of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee celebrations.

Colchester, Chelmsford and Southend all submitted bids ahead of the deadline on May 27 with one new city being created to mark the Queen's 60 years on the throne.

The 26 towns applying for city status are:

  • Bolton
  • Bournemouth
  • Chelmsford
  • Colchester
  • Coleraine
  • Corby
  • Craigavon
  • Croydon
  • Doncaster
  • Dorchester
  • Dudley
  • Dumfries
  • Gateshead
  • Goole
  • Luton
  • Medway
  • Middlesbrough
  • Milton Keynes
  • Perth
  • Reading
  • Southend
  • St Asaph
  • St Austell
  • Stockport
  • Tower Hamlets
  • Wrexham.

The results are expected to be announced early in 2012.

Local News

Recently Played Tracks

On Radio: Club Classics with Mark Wright

7pm - 9pm

Email the show

Text 'HEART' to 82122

Club Classics with Mark Wright

On TV: 55 Biggest 90's Club Classics

4pm - 8pm

Watch heart TV

  • Moloko Sing It Back



  • Alex Party Don't Give Me Your Life



  • Corona The Rhythm Of The Night



  • Haddaway What Is Love



Heart VIP


Autumn Weather

Find your local four day weather report here.

Listening To Radio Win With Heart

Make Heart the soundtrack to your day and you could be a winner with great prizes up for grabs throughout the day.

Advertise Advertise in Essex

Get some great ideas on how to advertise your business on radio, online and on mobile.

Follow Heart on Twitter