New Year Honours

31 December 2011, 08:00 | Updated: 31 December 2011, 11:39

It isn't just famous people who have been recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours list.

A girlguide leader from Winslow, Buckinghamshire and a former Bedfordshire Police Superintendent are among some of the lesser-known people who have been given MBEs.

There are also MBEs for a lecturer at the University of Hertfordshire and the former Milton Keynes coroner, Rodney Corner, who retired from his post in April 2011.

After a very successful year for the Milton Keynes-based Red Bull Formula One team, which saw them claim both the world drivers' and constructors' championships, their Chief Technical Officer Adrian Newey is appointed OBE.

Here is the list of honours awarded to people in Bedfordshire, Luton, Hertfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Milton Keynes and Northamptonshire:

OBE - Neil Caves. Prison Capacity Programme manager, Ministry of Justice. (Bedfordshire)
OBE - George Derbyshire. Formerly chief executive, National Federation of Enterprise Agencies. For services to Enterprise. (Bedfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Colleen Doherty. Higher Officer, Small and Medium Enterprises Team, London, HM Revenue and Customs. (Luton, Bedfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Vivienne Evans. For services to the community in Dunstable, Bedfordshire. (Dunstable, Bedfordshire)
MBE - Andrew Martin. Formerly Superintendent, Bedfordshire Police. For services to the Police. (Luton, Bedfordshire)
MBE - Ms Angela McBain. Past president, British Association of Dental Nurses. For services to Dental Nursing. (Bedfordshire)
MBE - Stephen John Nicholson. For services to St. John Ambulance in Bedfordshire. (Bedfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Denise Poore. Leader, Marsh Farm Sure Start Children's Centre, Luton, Bedfordshire. For services to Children and Families. (Maulden, Bedfordshire)
MBE - Frederick Edward Wooding. For services to Athletics in the East of England. (Bedfordshire)

CBE - Stephen John Hammersley. Chief executive, Community Foundation Network. For services to Philanthropy. (Harpenden, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Professor Celia Brackenridge. For services to Equality and Child Protection in Sport. (Tring, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Mrs Josephine Lilian Connell, DL. Vice president, Age UK. For services to Older People. (Hertfordshire)
OBE - Mrs Amanda Jane Derrick. Programme director, Connect Digitally Programme, Department for Education. For services to Children and Families. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Nigel Antony Eastaway. Tax Partner, BDO. For services to Taxation Law. (Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Jehangir Sarosh. President Emeritus, European Chapter, World Council on Religions for Peace. For Services to Inter-Faith Relations. (Watford, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Ms Margaret Mary Appleton. For services to Museums and Heritage. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Alfred Robin Fisher. Past Master, Worshipful Company of Glaziers and Painters of Glass. For services to Architectural Stained Glass. (Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Margaret Hackney. For services to Healthcare and Families in Hertfordshire. (Hitchin)
MBE - Dr Avice Margaret Hall. Principal Lecturer, University of Hertfordshire. For services to Higher Education and to the community in St. Albans. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
MBE - John Jones. Master Framer. For services to the Arts. (Ware, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Margaret Elizabeth Lewis, BEM. For services to the community in St. Albans, Hertfordshire. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Barbara Joyce Owen. Chair, The Three Rivers Museum of Local History. For services to the Heritage of Rickmansworth and the Three Rivers District. (Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Doreen Cynthia Parsonage. For services to the community in Wormley, Hertfordshire. (Broxbourne, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Michael Alan Pigott. Technical and Development manager-Ballistic Protection, Ministry of Defence. (Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Ms Sue Urwin. Probation Officer, Hertfordshire Probation Trust. For services to Offenders in Hertfordshire. (Enfield, Middlesex)
MBE - John Russell Charles Wills. Assistant director, MRC National Institute for Medical Research. For services to Science. (Hertfordshire)

CBE - Peter Anthony Winslow. Chief executive Officer, BGL Group Limited. For services to Financial Services. (Northamptonshire)
OBE - Dr Frank Antony Newton. For services to Sailing. (Northamptonshire)
MBE - Rodney Hunter Gordon Corner. For services to the Coroners' System. (Northamptonshire)
MBE - Dr Peter John Gordon. Formerly General Practitioner and Police Medical Adviser, Northamptonshire. For services to Emergency Care. (Wellingborough, Northamptonshire)
MBE - Keith Clarke Lambourne. Director of Export, ACO Group. For services to Construction Exports. (Weston Favell, Northamptonshire)
MBE - Mrs Morcea Antoinette Walker. For services to the community in Northamptonshire. (Northamptonshire)
MBE - Akram Zaman, JP. President, Protocol. For services to the community in Northamptonshire. (Northamptonshire)

Milton Keynes
OBE - Adrian Newey - Chief Technical Officer, Red Bull Racing, Milton Keynes. For services to motorsport. (Sunninghill, Berkshire)
MBE - Rodney Hunter Gordon Corner. For services to the Coroners' System. (Former Milton Keynes coroner)
MBE - Dr Glenis Carole Basiro Davey. The Open University Science Faculty, and Health Education and Training Programme, Africa. For services to Higher and Health Education. (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire)
MBE - Alderman Kevin John Wilson. Member, Milton Keynes Council. For services to Local Government. (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire)

KNIGHT BACHELOR - Andrew Witty. Chief executive Officer, GlaxoSmithKline. For services to the Economy and to the UK Pharmaceutical Industry. (Buckinghamshire)
OBE - Ms Anne Shirley Harrison. Head of Specialist Operational Support, National Policing Improvement Agency. For services to Public Protection. (Amersham, Buckinghamshire)
OBE - Mrs Felicity Mary Hilder. Founder, Lymphoma Association. For charitable services. (Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire)
OBE - Christopher Inman. Honorary Treasurer, British Fashion Council. For services to the Fashion Industry. (Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire)
MBE - Councillor Mohammad Bhatti. For services to Local Government and to the community. (Chesham, Buckinghamshire)
MBE - Mrs Brenda Mary Forty. For services to Elderly People in Chesham, Buckinghamshire. (Chesham, Buckinghamshire)
MBE - Mrs Sheila Gurnett. Girlguide Leader and Community Worker, Buckinghamshire. For services to Children and Young People. (Winslow, Buckinghamshire)
MBE - Mrs Rosemary Jane Buchan Segrove. Founderand Chair, Beaconsfield Talking Newspaper, Buckinghamshire. For services to People with Visual Impairment. (Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire)
MBE - Mrs Susan Marian Tither. Constable, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to the Police. (Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire)