Cambridge Rowing Squad

24 October 2010, 08:00

The Cambridge University squad for the 2011 varsity boat race against Oxford has been announced.

Cambridge feature 17 Britons and four returning blues, including president Derek Rasmussen from the United States, Canadian Geoff Roth, British Under-23 international George Nash and Hardy Cubasch, one of five Australians in the squad.

The 2011 Race will be the first experience of the event for the new Cambridge Chief Coach Steve Trapmore, who won a Gold medal for Britain at the Sydney Olympics in 2000.

The last Light Blue coach to win an Olympic Gold was James MacNabb, who won his medal in 1924 and coached the winning boat in 1951.  

"I’m very pleased to have so many returning Blues and Goldies who give the squad a thorough grounding in what’s needed to win the Race." said Steve.

Oxford and Cambridge will once again hold their trial eights races on the same day, December 8.

Cambridge have elected to take the first race time at 13.10, leaving Oxford with The Boat Race tide at 14.25.

The 157th Boat Race will be staged at 5pm on March 26.

Cambridge are the overall winners so far, leading by 80 wins to Oxford's 75.

The race along the River Thames from Mortlake to Putney attracts a quarter of a million spectators every year.

The pictures below show the victorious Cambridge team from this year's race.

Cambridge Boat Race Winners

Cambridge Boat Race Winners

Images (c) Getty Images.