Cambridgeshire: County Council Results

3 May 2013, 10:15 | Updated: 3 May 2013, 18:26

Cambridgeshire County Council has been left as a hung Council following the local elections.

Despite the Conservative party securing the highest number of seats, no party now has overall control of the 69 seat Council.

The final result is:

  • Conservatives 32 seats
  • Lib Dems 14 seats
  • UKIP 12 seats
  • Labour 7 seats
  • Independent 4 seats

Overall, the Conservatives lost seven seats, UKIP gained ten seats, Labour gained four seats, Lib Dems lost seven seats, Independents gained one seat and the Greens lost one seat.

The last time no party had overall control at Cambridgeshire County Council was between 1993 and 1997, when there was a Labour and Lib Dem coalition.

The Council has been Conservative-led since 1997.

Discussions will now be held between the parties to come to some sort of coalition style agreement, and it is likely an Interim Leader will be installed after Tory Leader Nick Clarke lost his Fulbourn seat.

A Cambridgeshire County Council statement reads: "A new leader will be chosen in due course. 

The closest results were in Chatteris, where the UKIP's Sandra Rylance won by 5 votes and Linton, where Conservative Roger Hickford won by a single vote. 

Political etiquette is that the party with the most councillors is given the first opportunity to form an administration. 

The next Council will be formed at its meeting on 21 May."

All 69 seats were up for election during polling day yesterday (Thursday).

Selected results:

  • County Council Leader Conservative Nick Clarke loses his Fulbourn seat to John Willams of the Lib Dems.
  • UKIP win Littleport seat from Conservatives
  • Conservatives retain Sutton seat
  • Burwell seat retained by Conservatives
  • Conservatives gain Ely North and East from Lib Dems
  • Conservatives retain Haddenham
  • UKIP win Warboys & Upwood from Conservatives
  • Labour takes King's Hedges from Lib Dems
  • Labour wins Abbey from Greens
  • Peter Topping takes Duxford for the Conservatives from the Lib Dems
  • Peter Reeve retains Ramsey for UKIP
  • Peter Downes retains Brampton and Kimbolton for Lib Dems
  • Somersham and Earith seat retained by Conservatives
  • Hemmingfords and Fenstanton seat retained for Tories
Full results are published on the Cambridgeshire County Council website.

Cambridgeshire County Council Election Results

Ballot papers were counted at:

Cambridge City – The Guildhall, Cambridge

South Cambridgeshire – South Cambridgeshire Hall, Cambourne

East Cambridgeshire – Ross Peers Sports Centre, Soham

Huntingdonshire – St Neots Leisure Centre

Cambridgeshire County Council Election Results

Fenland – Hudson Leisure Centre, Wisbech

The turnout for the Cambridge City area of the Cambridgeshire County Council elections has been verified as 31.4%.

The turnout for the South Cambridgeshire area has been verified as 34.62%.

In Huntingdonshire area, the turnout has been verified as 30%.

The turnout for the East Cambridgeshire area count has been confirmed as 28.2%.