Cambridgeshire: New Year Honours

31 December 2013, 05:51 | Updated: 31 December 2013, 06:32

Several people in Cambridgeshire, including the Chief Constable of the county's police, have made it onto the New Year Honours list.

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)

Simon Parr. Chief Constable, Cambridgeshire Constabulary.


British Empire Medal (BEM)

Ian Sheldon. For services to the community in Castor, Cambridgeshire. (Peterborough, Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Sally Margaret Melanie Mann. For services to the community in Stetchworth, Suffolk. (Newmarket)



Miss Georgina Joy Seddon. Co-Founder and Co-Organiser, Welcome International Students of Cambridge. For services to Higher Education and International Relations. (Cambridgeshire)

Graham William Redgrave. Chief Airworthiness Engineer, Marshall Aerospace. For services to the RAF and the Defence Industry. (Cambridgeshire)

John Henry Raymond Hoyles. For services to Agriculture and to the community in Wisbech, Cambridgeshire. (Wisbech, Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Rosemary Florence Gutteridge, JP, DL. Fundraiser, Cambridgeshire Branch, British Red Cross. For voluntary and charitable service to the British Red Cross Society. (Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Susan Joan Lloyd. Synthetic Phonics Advocate. For services to Education. (Haverhill)

Louise Brearey, head, London 2012 Games Team, Health and Safety Executive. For services to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games and voluntary service to young people in Essex (Saffron Walden).



Ms Bridget Lindley. Deputy chief executive and Principal Legal Adviser, Family Rights Group. For services to Families. (Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Candice Patricia Pellett. District Nurse, Lincolnshire Community Health Services NHS Trust. For services to Nursing. (Spalding, Lincolnshire)

Professor Juliet Elizabeth Compston. Emeritus Professor of Bone Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. For services to the Treatment of Osteoporosis. (Linton, Cambridgeshire)



Professor Ash Amin, FBA. Professor of Geography, University of Cambridge. For services to Social Science. (Cambridgeshire)

David Warren Arthur East. Formerly chief executive, ARM Holdings. For services to the Technology Industry. (Boxworth, Cambridgeshire)

Professor David Edgar Neal. Professor of Surgical Oncology, University of Cambridge. For services to Surgery. (Cambridgeshire)

Ms Beverly Hurley. Chief executive, YTKO. For services to Enterprise. (Newmarket).


Ex-Cambridge University Students Receiving Honours

Marcus Setchell, the consultant obstetrician who led the team that delivered the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge's baby has been made a knight commander of the Royal Victorian Order.

He studied at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge 1961-64.

Paul Tucker, the former deputy governor who missed out on the top job at the Bank of England after the departure of Mervyn King, is to be rewarded with a knighthood.

He graduated from Cambridge in 2002.

Broadcaster and wit Sandi Toksvig, will receive an OBE.

She studied at Girton College, Cambridge.

Kevin McCloud, best known for his role as presenter of long-running TV series Grand Designs, has been honoured for his work on sustainable buildings.

The broadcaster and designer, is recognised with an MBE. He studied  the history of art and architecture at Cambridge.