East: Five New Board Members At Ambulance Service

9 December 2013, 13:18 | Updated: 9 December 2013, 13:24

Three new directors have been appointed at the East of England Ambulance Service, meaning the organisation now has a full board again.

The previous board members all resigned earlier this year after criticism of leadership and slow response times at the NHS trust.

The NHS Trust Development Authority has today confirmed the appointment of Peter Kara, Valerie Morton and Dean Parker to the board.

Doctor Geoffrey Harris OBE, Chair of the Trust, said, "We have been working hard to build a new Board, especially developing the non-executive team from scratch in just five months.

I am delighted that we have been able to recruit Pater, Valerie and Dean, three very experienced people who add even further expertise and skills to our Board.

Transforming the ambulance service is going to take time, but we are making real progress and improvements. 

We know that we are turning a corner - ambulance delays are reducing and compliments from patients and users are significantly up amongst other things. 

Added to this, we have now completed the recruitment of a new non-executive team to provide strong leadership, challenge and add increased momentum to our improvement programme."