New Year's Honours Herts, Beds, Bucks & Northants

31 December 2013, 07:29

Dozens of local people have been recognised by the Queen in the New Year's Honours list.

Among the recipients is a primary school headteacher from Hertfordshire who become a Dame. Alison Peacock is the headteacher of Wroxham Primary School. She's been made a Dame for services to education.

The online group Netmums, which was set up in Hertfordshire, has seen 2 of it's founders recognised.

Catherine Court and Sarah Russell have both been given OBEs.

And Dr Rosalind Taylor DL who is the Medical Director of the Hospice of St Francis is awarded an MBE for services to hospice care.

Here's the full list of local recipients.



Mrs Alison Margaret Peacock. Headteacher, Wroxham Primary School, Hertfordshire. For services to Education. (Hertfordshire)


John Dorrington Apthorp, OBE. Philanthropist. For charitable services particularly in Hertfordshire. (Radlett, Hertfordshire)

Robert Andrew Voss. Chief executive Officer, Voss International. For services to British Industry and for voluntary service in the UK. (Loudwater, Hertfordshire)


Mrs Catherine Mary Court. Co-founder, For services to Families. (Hertfordshire)

Richard Alan Rose. Formerly A2L, Private Sector Development and National Infrastructure Team, Department for International Development. For services to Infrastructure in Afghanistan. (St. Albans, Hertfordshire)

Mrs Sarah Carolyn Russell. Co-founder, For services to Families. (Watford, Hertfordshire)

Lady Joanna Susan Elizabeth Staughton, DL, JP. For services to Education, Health, Law and charity in Hertfordshire. (Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire)

Paul Welch. Head. Records, Information Governance and Departmental Records Officer, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills. For services to Records and Information. (Borehamwood, Hertfordshire)


Hugh Mcdonald Kirk. President, London Rotary. For charitable services in the UK and Abroad. (Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire)

Roger Lewis Harold Merton. For services to London Youth (the London Federation of Youth Clubs), Football and the community in Hertfordshire. (Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire)

Dr Deborah Anne Pullen. Director, Modern Built Environment Knowledge Transfer Network and Group Research director, BRE. For services to Innovation and Knowledge Transfer. (Furneux Pelham, Hertfordshire)

Ms Julia Lesley Sibley. Chief executive, Savoy Educational Trust. For services to the Hospitality Industry. (Datchworth, Hertfordshire)

Dr Rosalind Taylor, DL. Medical director, The Hospice of St. Francis, Hertfordshire. For services to Hospice Care. (Kings Langley, Hertfordshire)

Miss Janette Mary Wood. Physical Education Teacher and Sports Partnership manager, Freman College, Hertfordshire. For services to Education. (Baldock, Hertfordshire)


Mrs Hilary Mary Baker. Assistant Scout Leader, 3rd Southgate Scout and Guide Group. For services to Young People. (Waltham Cross, Hertfordshire)

Roger Douglas Baker. Group Scout Leader, 3rd Southgate Scout and Guide Group, London. For services to Young People. (Waltham Cross, Hertfordshire)

Martin Crowhurst. For charitable services to Fundraising in Hertfordshire. (Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire)

Mrs Irene Joy Heathcote. Founder, Quilts4London. For services to Arts and Crafts. (Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire)

Miss Sarah Sheldrick. Police Community Volunteer, Hertfordshire Constabulary. For services to the community. (Stevenage, Hertfordshire)

Mrs Wendy Smith. For services to the community in Puckeridge and Standon, Hertfordshire. (Puckeridge, Hertfordshire)



Mrs Rachel Mary De Souza. Formerly Executive Principal, Ormiston Victory Academy, Norwich, Norfolk. For services to Education. (Woburn Sands, Bedfordshire)


Professor Helen Valerie Atkinson. Chair, Metals Processing and head, Department of Engineering, University of Leicester. For services to Engineering and Education. (Bedfordshire)

Professor Richard Parish. Formerly chief executive, Royal Society for Public Health. For services to Public Health. (Moggerhanger, Bedfordshire)


Professor Jennifer Joy Pearce. Professor of Young People and Public Policy, University of Bedfordshire. For services to Vulnerable Children and Young People. (London)

Andrew William Simons. Grade 7, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence Information Capability. (Ampthill, Bedfordshire)


Derek John Phillips. Foster Carer, Bedfordshire. For services to Children and Families. (Bedfordshire)

Mrs Hazel Catherine Phillips. Foster Carer, Bedfordshire. For services to Children and Families. (Bedfordshire)


Mrs Elaine Ible. For services to The St. Kitts and Nevis Friends Association and to the community in Luton, Bedfordshire. (Luton, Bedfordshire)

Mrs Mabel Georgina Matthew. For services to The St. Kitts and Nevis Friends Association and the community in Luton, Bedfordshire. (Luton, Bedfordshire)

Peter Charles Meads. For services to the community and to charity in Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire. (Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire)

Mrs Susan Wells. For services to the community in Bedford. (Bedfordshire)

Mrs Gillian Shirley Wood. District secretary and District Scout Council, Bedfordshire. For services to Children. (Lower Stondon, Bedfordshire)

Mrs Susan Ann Young. For voluntary services to the community in Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire. (Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire)



Ms Rita Ann Clifton. For services to the Advertising Industry. (Marlow, Buckinghamshire)

Mrs Gillian Hammond. Deputy director, Estates and Support Services, Nottingham, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to Civil Service Management and Reform. (Milton Keynes,

Charles Nicholas Parsons, OBE. For charitable services, particularly to Children's Charities. (Risborough, Buckinghamshire)

Ms Emma Samantha Pidding. Chairman, National Conservative Convention. For voluntary political service. (Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire)


Mrs Ruth Carolyn Dearnley. Chief executive Officer, Stop The Traffik. For services to Awareness and Prevention of Human Trafficking. (Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire)

David Elworthy. Superintendent, Thames Valley Police. For services to Protective Security. (Holmer Green, Buckinghamshire)

Professor Gregory Peter Whyte. For services to Sport, Sport Science and to charity. (Marlow, Buckinghamshire)

Nigel Martin Woof. Chief executive Officer, Map Action. For Humanitarian services. (Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire)


Henry Peter Graham Hinde. For voluntary service to the Environment. (Iver, Buckinghamshire)

Mrs Candida Jane Piercy. Member, Liberal Democrats' Federal Executive Committee. For voluntary political service. (Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire)



Michael Griffiths. Headmaster, Northampton School for Boys and president, Association of School and College Leaders. For services to Education. (Towcester, Northamptonshire)



Stephen John Rimmer. Director general, Crime and Policing Group, Home Office. For services to Criminal Justice and Policing Reform. (Brackley, Northamptonshire)


Dr Jane Elizabeth Doughty. Formerly director, Design and Development, Leadership Division, National College for Teaching and Leadership. For services to Education. (Cogenhoe, Northamptonshire)


Andrew John Basford. Principal Officer, manager Engineering Development, Serious and Organised Crime Agency. For services to Law Enforcement. (Daventry, Northamptonshire)


Mrs Carrol Lynn Burdon. Data Sharing Officer, Valuation Office Agency. For services to Customers and the Economy. (East Hunsbury, Northamptonshire)

Mrs Joan Hilda Martin, JP. Governor, Northampton School for Girls and former Headteacher. For services to Education. (Hardingtone, Northamptonshire)


Martin John Izzard. For services to Golf through the Northamptonshire County Golf Partnership. (Rushden, Northamptonshire)