Sir Roger Moore Receives Honorary Degree

22 November 2012, 11:07 | Updated: 23 November 2012, 10:28

The University of Hertfordshire’s Vice Chancellor, Quintin McKellar has awarded legendary Bond actor, Sir Roger Moore an Honorary Doctor of Arts in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the UK film and television industry.

Starring in more than fifty films, Sir Roger is most famous for playing the iconic role of Bond in the official James Bond film series. Making his 007 debut in Live and Let Die, to date Sir Roger is the longest-serving Bond, having spent twelve years in the role between 1973 and 1985.
Commenting on receiving his Award, Sir Roger said: “Having spent many enjoyable and successful years of my working life in Hertfordshire, I feel deeply humbled the University of Hertfordshire is bestowing this great honour on me. In particular, I regard Borehamwood and Elstree as a home from home and know that my dear department friend and employer Lord Grade of Elstree will be smiling down on us all today.”
At the ceremony on Wednesday 21st November – held in the Cathedral and Abbey Church of St Albans – Sir Roger received his Honorary Degree alongside over 4,500 new graduates celebrating academic success.
In reading the citation, Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor at the University of Hertfordshire, said: “As well as a full film career, Sir Roger began in television where he was cast in the highly-successful series Ivanhoe, stepped into the role of Simon Templar in The Saint and co-starred in the TV series The Persuaders. In recognition of this contribution, in particular in the county of Hertfordshire, I am delighted to award an Honorary Doctor of Arts to Sir Roger Moore.”
The University has also shown its appreciation to fourteen other pillars of the community by awarding Honorary Degrees and Fellowships for outstanding contribution to academic disciplines, charity, professions or public service – presented by Lord Salisbury, Chancellor of the University of Hertfordshire; Mrs Jo Connell, Pro Chancellor of the University; Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor and Professor Graham Galbraith, Deputy Vice-Chancellor.