Essex: County Figures In New Year Honours

OBE award

Essex is well represented in the Queen’s New Year Honours List, with more than 40 people from the county receiving an award.

Here is a full list of those people from Essex and East Herts recognised in the New Year Honours List:


Roy Alexander Stone. Principal private secretary, Government chief Whip's Office. For parliamentary and public service. (Rayleigh)


Michael John Bonehill. For charitable services, particularly to the National Youth Theatre. (Theydon Bois)

Mrs Sally Davies. Headteacher, Thriftwood Special School, Chelmsford. For services to Special Needs Education. (Westcliff on Sea)

Mrs Jane Elizabeth Humphreys. Head of Spectrum Policy, Department for Culture, Media and Sport. For services to UK Mobile Communications. (Chelmsford)

Mrs Sandra Manning. Business Unit head, Local Compliance, London, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to Tax Compliance and voluntary service to the community. (Chafford Hundred)

Franklyn Keith Musto. Founder, Musto Clothing. For services to the Economy. (Burnham-on-Crouch)


Mrs Sally Hayes-Smith. Founder and Executive director, Action for Kids Charitable Trust. For Services to Children and Young People. (Cressing)


 - MBE


Charles Nicholas Back. Member, Cirdan Sailing Trust. For services to Young People. (Purleigh)

Roy Cecil Boreham. Life vice-president, National and Essex Federation of Young Farmers Clubs. For services to Young Farmers. (Chelmsford)

Miss Mrs Louise Brearey. Head, London 2012 Games Team, Health and Safety Executive. For services to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games and voluntary service to Young People in Sport. (Saffron Walden)


Mrs Anne Laura Bryden. Formerly Language Teacher, St. Edward's Church of England School and Sixth Form College, Havering. For services to Education. (London)

Ian Robert Burrell. Chairman, Ambulance Motorcycle Club UK. For services to Motorcycle Safety, particularly through the CRASH Card Scheme. (Southend-on-Sea)

Miss Janine Bush. Principal private secretary to the Treasury Solicitor, Treasury Solicitor's Department. For services to the Government Legal Service. (Colchester)

Ms Carol Joan Compton. Manager, Integrated Youth Support Service, Southend Borough Council. For services to Children and Families. (Westcliff-on-Sea)

Ms Ilid Davies. Head of Public Protection, London Probation Trust. For services to Public Protection and the Rehabilitation of Residents of Approved Premises. (Loughton)



Miss Lucy Hodges. For services to Blind Sailing. (Rochford)

Adam Michael Hunt. Noel Force Solicitor Police. For services to Policing. (Colchester)

Hugh Mcdonald Kirk. President, London Rotary. For charitable services in the UK and Abroad. (Bishop's Stortford)

Dr Barbara Helen Knowles. Senior Science Policy Adviser, Society of Biology. For services to Science Communication and the Environment. (Colchester)


David John Lodge. Chair of Grants Committee, Friends of Essex Churches Trust. For services to Building Conservation. (Maldon)

Roger Lewis Harold Merton. For services to London Youth (the London Federation of Youth Clubs), Football and the community in Hertfordshire. (Hoddesdon)

David Attlee Norman. Chair, Governing Executive, Ruskin College, Oxford. For services to Adult Education. (Leigh-On-Sea)

Peter John Harold Philpot. Farmer. For services to Agriculture, the Rural Economy, Education and Young People in Essex. (Billericay)

Dr Deborah Anne Pullen. Director, Modern Built Environment Knowledge Transfer Network and Group Research director, BRE. For services to Innovation and Knowledge Transfer. (Furneux Pelham)

Edward Slater. National chairman, Normandy Veterans Association. For voluntary service to Normandy Veterans. (Colchester)

Nigel Robin Charles Spencer. Teacher, All Saints Church of England Primary School. For services to Education. (Harwich)

Mrs Avril Shirley Spriggs. For voluntary service to Gymnastics. (Basildon)


Edward Jeremy West. For services to the Funeral Profession Industry and to the community in Barking and Dagenham.

Councillor Geoffrey Williams. Councillor, Basildon Borough Council. For service to Local Government. (Basildon)

Roy Williams. Engineer and Equipment Examiner, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence Engineering. (Colchester)


Mrs Hilary Mary Baker. Assistant Scout Leader, 3rd Southgate Scout and Guide Group. For services to Young People. (Waltham Cross)

Roger Douglas Baker. Group Scout Leader, 3rd Southgate Scout and Guide Group, London. For services to Young People. (Waltham Cross)

Mrs Janet Anne Brewer. Secretary, London North East Branch, SSAFA. For voluntary service to SSAFA. (Brentwood)

Donald Keith Coleman. For services to Music and the community in Rivenhall and Silver End (Witham)


Graham Philip Ellis. For charitable services. (Harlow)


Mrs Irene May Haylock. Volunteer, Southend Hospital Audiology Department. For voluntary services to People with Hearing Impairments. (Benfleet)

Mrs Pamela Jean Hurcomb. Bank Staff Nurse. For services to Healthcare. (Colchester)


Daniel Mark Lawrence. For services to Community Radio in Essex. (Billericay)

Gerard McEwen. For services to the community in Essex. (Ingatestone)

Mrs Susan Ratcliffe. Fundraiser, Guide Dogs. For services to People with Visual Impairments. (Harlow)


Mrs Wendy Smith. For services to the community in Puckeridge and Standon. (Puckeridge)


Ms Deanna Irene Walker. Senior Academic Officer, University of Essex. For services to Higher Education. (Colchester)


Mrs Myra Anne Weir. For services to the Rochford Day Centre and to the community in Rochford and Hawkwell. (Hawkwell)

Mrs Eileen Gladys Withrington. School Volunteer, St. Jude and St. Paul's Church of England Primary School, Islington. For services to Education. (Shenfield)