Essex: County Recognised In Honours List

An Olympic games maker from Chelmsford is one of the Essex people to be recognised by the Queen in the New Year Honours.

Dawn Bracken is made a BEM for services to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The British Empire Medal (BEM), reintroduced in the 2012 Queen's Birthday Honours, recognises people who played their part in the "Big Society".

In politics, Upminster MP Angela Watkinson is awarded a damehood. Cheshunt's Olympic cycling champion Laura Trott (pictured), who was born in Harlow, receives an OBE.

The full list of Essex recipients is as follows:

Reginald William Bailey. Chief executive, Mothers' Union. For service to Children and Families. (Nazeing)
Mrs Angela Mary O'Donoghue. Formerly Principal, City of Sunderland College. For services to Further Education. (Billericay)
Ms Caroline Tapster. Formerly chief executive, Hertfordshire County Council. For services to Local Government. (Stansted)


Ms Angela Eileen Watkinson. Member of Parliament for Hornchurch and Upminster. For public and political service. (London)
Mrs Shelagh Fay Deadman. Formerly Children and Young People's Inspection Team Leader, HM Inspector of Prisons. For services to Safeguarding Young People. (Essex)
Michael Henry Denness. President, Kent County Cricket Club. For services to Sport. (Brentwood)
Mrs Theresa Ann Drowley. Principal and chief executive Officer, Redbridge College. For services to Further Education. (Loughton, Essex)
Timothy Patrick Elms. Parliamentary Clerk, Department of Health. For services to Improving Ministerial Business Standards. (South Benfleet)
Brian Beale. Councillor, Southminster. For services to Local Government in Essex. (Maldon)
Professor Mala Rao. For services to Public Health in the UK and Overseas. (Colchester)
Vincent Thomas Patrick Hayes. Founder, Brick Lane Music Hall. For services to British Music Hall. (Buckhurst Hill)
Lt Col Richard Martin. For services to the City of London Corporation. (Southend-on-Sea)
Nigel Main. Head of Special Project Solutions, SELEX Elsag. For services to the Defence Industry. (Essex)
Alan Frederick Millam. For services to the community in Braintree Essex. (Braintree)
Brian Raymond Douglas Mitchell. General manager, Rayleigh Boys Football Club. For services to Youth Football. (Rayleigh)
Alan Peaford. Founding Trustee and Chairperson, Cornelia de Lange Syndrome Foundation. For services to People with Cornelia de Lange Syndrome and their Families. (Essex)
Kaushik Chaturbhai Patel. Community Pharmacist, Essex. For services to Pharmacy. (Clacton on Sea)
Dr Madhu Lata Pathak, JP. For services to the community in Romford, Essex. (Romford)
Ms Valerie Ahern. Vice-Chair, Templar's Estate Residents Association. For services to Tenant Empowerment in Witham. (Witham)
Mrs Kathleen Emmie Carhart. For services to the community in Little Dunmow, Essex. (Dunmow)
Mrs Dawn Bracken. Volunteer Trailblazer. For services to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. (Chelmsford)
Mrs Sandra Coats. Catering assistant, Barking and Dagenham College. For services to Further Education. (Essex)
Mrs Daphne Edna Field. For services to charity and to the community in Chelmsford, Essex. (Chelmsford)
Mrs Jill Jacqueline Earney. For services to the community in Hatfield Peverel, Essex. (Chelmsford)
John William Filby. For services to the community in Abridge Essex. (Romford)
Mrs Susan Lydia Freeman. For services to the community in Thaxted, Essex. (Dunmow)
Alan George Hooker. For services to Scouting and to the community in Little Hallingbury Essex. (Bishop's Stortford)
Mrs Rosemary Pack. District president, Castle Point Girl Guides and Fundraiser, Motor Neurone Disease, Benfleet, Essex. For services to Young People and Charitable Fundraising. (Benfleet)
Alan George Parry. Volunteer chairman, Lion Youth Club, Hoxton, London. For services to Children and Young People. (Essex)
Albert Leonard Patient. Volunteer, South Benfleet Primary School. For services to Education. (Benfleet)