New Year Honours

31 December 2011, 08:00

It isn't just famous people who have been recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours list.

The chair of The Three Rivers Museum of Local History and a lecturer at the University of Hertfordshire are also among the people who have been awarded MBEs.

There is an OBE for Jehangir Sarosh from Watford, the President Emeritus of the European Chapter of the World Council on Religions For Peace.  That's for services to inter-faith relations.

Here is the list of honours awarded to people in Hertfordshire

CBE - Stephen John Hammersley. Chief executive, Community Foundation Network. For services to Philanthropy. (Harpenden, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Professor Celia Brackenridge. For services to Equality and Child Protection in Sport. (Tring, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Mrs Josephine Lilian Connell, DL. Vice president, Age UK. For services to Older People. (Hertfordshire)
OBE - Mrs Amanda Jane Derrick. Programme director, Connect Digitally Programme, Department for Education. For services to Children and Families. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Nigel Antony Eastaway. Tax Partner, BDO. For services to Taxation Law. (Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire)
OBE - Jehangir Sarosh. President Emeritus, European Chapter, World Council on Religions for Peace. For Services to Inter-Faith Relations. (Watford, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Ms Margaret Mary Appleton. For services to Museums and Heritage. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Alfred Robin Fisher. Past Master, Worshipful Company of Glaziers and Painters of Glass. For services to Architectural Stained Glass. (Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Margaret Hackney. For services to Healthcare and Families in Hertfordshire. (Hitchin)
MBE - Dr Avice Margaret Hall. Principal Lecturer, University of Hertfordshire. For services to Higher Education and to the community in St. Albans. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
MBE - John Jones. Master Framer. For services to the Arts. (Ware, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Margaret Elizabeth Lewis, BEM. For services to the community in St. Albans, Hertfordshire. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Barbara Joyce Owen. Chair, The Three Rivers Museum of Local History. For services to the Heritage of Rickmansworth and the Three Rivers District. (Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Mrs Doreen Cynthia Parsonage. For services to the community in Wormley, Hertfordshire. (Broxbourne, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Michael Alan Pigott. Technical and Development manager-Ballistic Protection, Ministry of Defence. (Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire)
MBE - Ms Sue Urwin. Probation Officer, Hertfordshire Probation Trust. For services to Offenders in Hertfordshire. (Enfield, Middlesex)
MBE - John Russell Charles Wills. Assistant director, MRC National Institute for Medical Research. For services to Science. (Hertfordshire)