New Leader At Norfolk County Council Sets HIs Priorities

29 May 2013, 05:00

The new leader of Norfolk County Council says education and safeguarding children are his top priorities.

Norfolk County Council Leader George Nobbs (Lab) has announced a new eight-member Cabinet, comprising five Labour members and three Liberal Democrats.
Cllr Nobbs was elected Leader of Norfolk County Council on Friday (24 May 2013) and immediately announced the creation of two Cabinet posts for Children's Services, and the appointment of Cllr Mick Castle, Labour member for Yarmouth North and Central, as Cabinet Member for Schools, and Cllr James Joyce, Liberal Democrat member for Reepham, as Cabinet Member for Safeguarding Children.
Mr Nobbs told Heart: "A Cabinet of eight Members represents a reduction that reflects the funding cuts the Norfolk County Council is facing from the Government. Although it is a smaller team, it draws upon some considerable experience, and focuses on the most critical areas - in particular Children's Services when the people of Norfolk expect to see improvements in the performance of our schools, and assurance that our safeguarding services are keeping children safe. These services are so critical to the future of our county that I have separated them at Cabinet level, allowing Cllr Castle to focus upon schools and Cllr Joyce on safeguarding."
George Nobbs

The full Cabinet announced by the Leader is:

Cllr George Nobbs (Lab) - Leader of the Council with special responsibility for Economic Development.

Cllr Mick Castle (Lab) - Schools.

Cllr David Harrison (Lib Dem) - Environment, Transport, Development & Waste.

Cllr James Joyce (Lib Dem) - Safeguarding Children.

Cllr Steve Morphew (Lab) - Finance, Corporate and Personnel.

Cllr Daniel Roper (Lib Dem) - Public Protection (Public Health, Trading Standards, Fire & Rescue).

Cllr Sue Whitaker (Lab) - Adult Social Services.

Cllr Margaret Wilkinson (Lab) - Communities (Adult Education, Libraries, Museums, Customer Service).

In addition to the Cabinet appointments, Cllr Nobbs announced that Cllr Colleen Walker, Labour Group Deputy Leader, will be taking on the vital role of Scrutiny lead.