Labour Win Corby By-Election

17 November 2012, 07:43 | Updated: 20 November 2012, 11:45

Labour have won the Corby by-election - taking the seat from the Conservatives.

Their candidate Andy Sawford took the seat by 7,791 votes with the Conservatives in second place and UKIP in third.

It's the first time in 15 years that Labour has won a seat from the Tories in a Parliamentary by-election and Andy Sawford reckons the Labour party is now on track for a winning General Election in 2012 saying, "The road to Downing Street runs through Corby"

The by-election was forced by the resignation of Conservative MP Louise Mensch to spend more time with her family in the USA.

Last night she took to Twitter to accept the blame for her party's failure to retain the seat, which was Labour from 1997 until 2010.

But Mr Sawford said the result was "a damning verdict on (David) Cameron's betrayal of the British people''.

Name Party Votes
David Laurence Bishop Elvis Loves Pets Party 99
Christine Emmett Conservative 9476
Ian Francis Gillman Ind 212
Jill Hope Liberal Democrat 1770
Jonathan Hornett Green Party 378
Dr Rohen Kapur Young People's Party 39
Adam Lotun Ind 35
Mr Mozzarella Ind 73
Margot Parker UKIP 5108
Peter Reynolds CLEAR Cannabis Law Reford 137
Gordon Riddell British National Party 614
Andy Sawford Labour 17,267
Christopher Scotton United People's Party 25
David Wickham English Democrat 432

Corby Byelection Result

Andy Sawford MP First Interview