2014 Queen's Birthday Honours Revealed

13 June 2014, 22:30

39 people have been recognised in Dorset and Hampshire on the Queen's Birthday Honours, along with Angelina Jolie and charity fundraiser Stephen Sutton.

31 people in Hampshire and eight people in Dorset have been given honours, these include the managing director of Hawk-Eye Innovations ltd, a boxing coach, a naval architect and a headteacher. 

Teenage cancer victim Stephen Sutton has been honoured with an MBE, just weeks after losing his fight against the disease.

The 19-year-old, who accepted the honour before his death on May 14, is joined in the latest round of honours by A-lister Angelina Jolie, who receives an honorary damehood for her work to fight sexual violence. 

The pair are among the latest set of honours, announced today, which include awards for stars of sport, stage and screen, as well as ordinary members of the public. 

Stephen's MBE is backdated to the date of his death last month, which touched millions and resulted in a huge boost in donations to the Teenage Cancer Trust. 

The teenager, who was diagnosed with bowel cancer at 15, became a household name as he helped raise £4 million for the fight against cancer, staying positive throughout his illness, always smiling and giving the "thumbs up". 

Mrs Sutton said she was "truly delighted and immensely proud" that he had been recognised in the honours. She said: 

"Although Stephen continually told all of us that he didn't do his charity work for recognition, even he acknowledged that to be appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire was "AWESOME'." 

Below is a list of all those honoured in Hampshire and Dorset: 

Jack Lewis Bishop. Boxing Coach and Promoter. For services to Boxing in Portsmouth and Southampton. (Fareham, Hampshire) 

Dr Brian John Fellows. Volunteer Brook Meadow Nature Reserve, Emsworth. For services to Nature Conservation in Hampshire. (Hampshire)

Mrs Susan Elizabeth Ward. Head of Skills for Life, Highbury College, Portsmouth. For services to Further Education and Young People with Mental Health Conditions. (Southampton, Hampshire) 

Mrs Melanie Anne Craddock. Unit Welfare Officer, Ministry of Defence. For services to Armed Forces Personnel and Families. (Hampshire)

Thomas Patrick Geddes. University Ombudsman University of Winchester. For services to Higher Education. (Winchester, Hampshire) 

Lt Col Susan Jane Westlake. Vice president Women's Royal Army Corps Association. For services to ex-Servicewomen. (Alton, Hampshire)

Dr Richard George Wilson. Trustee Action for Sick Children and Trustee, The Lullaby Trust. For services to Vulnerable Children and Bereaved People. (Portsmouth, Hampshire) 

Keith Robert Mallard Page. The Duke of Edinburgh Award Leader and Co-ordinator Cowplain Community School, Hampshire. For services to Education and voluntary service to Young People. (Waterlooville, Hampshire) 

Lady Louisa Caroline Portal, DL. For services to Music and to Scouting in Hampshire. (Basingstoke, Hampshire) 

Ms Teresa Jane Sandison. Director of Lifelong Learning and Staff Development University of Winchester. For services to Higher Education. (Winchester, Hampshire) 

Mrs Paula Bartlett. Area Operational Delivery manager, Crown Prosecution Service, Wessex. For services to Law and Order and to the community in Portsmouth, Hampshire. (Portsmouth, Hampshire) 

Michael Demster Brook. Senior Officer Digital Education Service Designer, London, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to Tax Work. (Overton, Hampshire) 

Edward Peter Shephard Leask. For services to Sailing Young People and Philanthropy. (Southsea, Hampshire) 

Sean Murphy. Principal Scientist Ministry of Defence. For services to Military Operational Capability. (Hampshire) 

David John Way. Director Knowledge Exchange and Special Projects, Technology Strategy Board. For services to Technology, Innovation and Manufacturing. (Fleet, Hampshire) 

Jonathan Corderoy Cheshire. Chief executive Wheatsheaf Trust. For services to Social Enterprise and to the community in Hampshire. (Gosport, Hampshire) 

Dr Paul Martin Hawkins. Managing director and chairman Hawk-Eye Innovations Ltd. For services to Technology and Sport. (Shawford, Hampshire) 

Neil Alan Hopkins. Principal Peter Symonds Sixth Form College, Winchester, Hampshire. For services to Education. (Whitchurch, Hampshire) 

Professor Michael Howard Kelly. Professor of French University of Southampton. For services to Higher Education and to European Co-operation. (Southampton, Hampshire) 

John Edward Jones. Deputy head Chemical Biological Radiological Nuclear Explosive Security and Terrorism Unit, Home Office. For services to Counter Terrorism. (Hampshire) 

Professor Jessica Lois Corner. Dean of Health Sciences University of Southampton. For services to Healthcare Research and Education. (King's Somborne, Hampshire) 

Maj Gen (Archibald) Peter Neil Currie, CB. Chairman Board of Trustees, Combat Stress. For voluntary service to Veterans with Mental Health Problems. (Winchester, Hampshire) 

Ms Dawn Eastmead. Deputy director National Fire Policy, Department for Communities and Local Government. For services to Communities and Fire Safety. (Havant, Hampshire) 

Charles Roy Lancaster, OBE. Gardener and Broadcaster. For services to Horticulture and charity. (Eastleigh, Hampshire) 

Professor Catherine Mary Law, OBE. Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology University College London Institute of Child Health. For services to Public Health. (Romsey, Hampshire) 

Ms Joanna Mary Whelan. Deputy chief executive Debt Management Office. For services to Public Finance. (Alton, Hampshire) 

Mrs Christine Ann Slaymaker. Principal, Farnborough College of Technology. For services to Further Education. (Hampshire) 

Dr Robert Alwyn Sykes. Headteacher Thornden School, Chandler's Ford, Hampshire. For services to Education. (Farnham, Surrey) 

Dr Michael Dixon. Director Natural History Museum. For services to Museums. (Hampshire) 

Dr Holly Jacqueline Phillips. Naval Architect. For services to Maritime Safety and the community in Swanage Dorset. (Swanage, Dorset) 

Richard Bertrand Player. Higher Executive Officer Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence Catering. (Dorset) 

John Hegarty. Teacher and vice Principal Budmouth College, Weymouth and Founder, Dorset Expeditionary Society. For services to Education and Outdoor Learning. (Portland, Dorset) 

Steve Etches. For services to Palaeontology. (Wareham, Dorset) 

Ms Gail McGarva. For services to Heritage Crafts and Clinker Boat Building. (Lyme Regis, Dorset) Mrs Jennifer Rundle. For services to the craft of Quilting. (Hampshire) 

Adam Robert Tuffrey. Young Ambassador Meningitis Trust. For services to Meningitis Awareness. (Bournemouth, Dorset) 

Ms Helen Marie Warren. Parent Teacher Association Volunteer Poole Grammar School, Dorset. For services to Education. (Poole, Dorset) 

Mrs Vanetta Lesley Westell. For charitable services, especially to the NSPCC and other children's charities in Dorset. (Poole, Dorset) 

George Walter Mark Callow. Apprentice in Cabinetmaking. For services to Skills. (East Wittering, West Sussex)