Eastleigh By-Election

Voters in Eastleigh go to the polls today.

The by-election has been caused by the resignation of the Liberal Democrat MP Chris Huhne.

Polling stations are open between 7am and 10pm and the result is expected in the early Friday.

Below is the full list of candidates standing:

Conservative - Maria Hutchings

Labour - John O'Farrell

Liberal Democrats - Mike Thornton

UK Independence Party - Diane James

National Health Action - Iain MacLennan

Peace Party - Jim Duggan

Independent - Danny Stupple

English Democrats - Mike Walters

Monster Raving Loony Party - Alan Hope

Wessex Regionalists - Colin Bex

Elvis Loves Pets - David Bishop

The Beer, Baccy and Crumpet Party - Ray Hall

Christian Party - Kevin Milburn

Trade Unionists and Socialists - Daz Procter