Kent Schools Hit by Scrapped Building Plans

Find out what's happening to Kent's schools after Government announces it's scrapping Building Schools for the Future project

Paul Carter, the Leader of Kent County Council's responded to the Government's decision to stop the Building Schools for the Future programme;

Paul Carter said:

"I have been surprised and disappointed by the scale of the announcement, which brings to an end the Building Schools for the Future programme for 40 secondary schools and means significant uncertainty for eight new academies. I am enormously disappointed for these schools, teachers, pupils and parents which will not see new schools built.”

Kent had the largest Building Schools for the Future programme in the country and had been at the forefront of building new academies. The announcement will come as an enormous shock to the 48 secondary schools (40 secondary schools and eight academies), including pupil referral units and special schools, in the county that would have benefited from being substantially rebuilt or refurbished.

To date, 11 secondary schools have been, or are in the process of being, rebuilt and seven new academies have been completed or are underway. Kent County Council has overseen in the region of £400million of public money spent on new and refurbished schools.

Mr Carter added:

"We have played by the rules with the Labour government, being successful in attracting significant government funds into education in Kent. We must now work with the coalition government to help them bring the public finances of this country under control. At the same time, we will work with them to make sure Kent receives as much as possible from a more limited capital programme to improve school facilities across the county.

“I appreciate that all those involved in the project, from headteachers to contractors, will also be disappointed. We need time to take stock of our position and reflect on the announcement. I would like to see all the people involved coming together to talk about innovative ways of revitalising secondary schools. We stand ready to offer any assistance to the government’s review panel.”


Here are the schools involved and affected:

The following schools have been rebuilt or are under construction. All these schools will be completed:

Charles Dickens School, Broadstairs
Community College Whitstable, Whitstable
Dane Court Grammar School, Broadstairs
Herne Bay High School, Herne Bay
The Ifield School, Gravesend
The Ifield School was rebuilt as part of Kent's Special School Review, but is funded through Building Schools for the Future. The school is also receiving the ICT Managed Service provided by Kent's ICT Partner, Northgate Education.
King Ethelbert School, Birchington
Northfleet School for Girls, Gravesend
Northfleet Technology College, Gravesend
St George's CE Foundation School, Broadstairs
St John's Catholic Comprehensive School, Gravesend
Thamesview School, Gravesend

(Cornwallis Academy, Maidstone; Longfield Academy, Dartford; Marsh Academy, Romney Marsh; New Line Learning Academy, Maidstone and Spires Academy, Canterbury are unaffected and building work will be completed).


The following schools will be reviewed on a school by school basis:

Dover Christ Church Academy
Isle of Sheppey Academy
Skinners Kent Academy, Tunbridge Wells
The Astor of Hever Community School, Maidstone
The Duke of York's Royal Military School, Dover
The John Wallis C of E Academy Ashford
The Knole Academy, Sevenoaks
Wilmington Enterprise College, Dartford

The following schools have been stopped:

Abbey School, Faversham  
Astor High School, Dover
Borden Grammar School, Sittingbourne    
Brockhill Park Performing Arts College, Hythe
Brook Education Centre, Folkestone
Castle Community College, Deal
Challenger Centre Pupil Referral Unit, Sittingbourne
Chatham House Grammar, Ramsgate
Clarendon House Grammar, Ramsgate
Dover Grammar School for Boys
Dover Grammar School for Girls
Foreland School, Broadstairs
Foxwood School, Hythe
Fulston Manor School, Sittingbourne
Gravesend Boys Grammar              
Gravesend Girls Grammar   
Grosvenor House Pupil Referral Unit, Herne Bay
Harbour School, Dover
Hartsdown Technology College, Margate
Hereson School
Highview School, Folkestone
Laleham Gap, Margate
Meadowfield School, Sittingbourne
Meopham, Gravesend
Northwood Centre Pupil Referral Unit, Ramsgate
Pent Valley School, Folkestone      
Portal House, Dover
Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Faversham
Sandwich Technology School
Sir Roger Manwood's School, Sandwich   
Sittingbourne Community College
St Edmund's Catholic School, Dover
St Georges C of E School, Gravesend      
St. Anthony's, Margate
Stone Bay School, Broadstairs
The Folkestone School for Girls      
The Harvey Grammar School, Folkestone
Ursuline College, Westgate
Walmer Science College, Deal
Westlands School, Sittingbourne