Full list of schools with RAAC concrete published

6 September 2023, 12:00 | Updated: 6 September 2023, 12:01

Which schools are affected by RAAC?
Which schools are affected by RAAC? . Picture: Getty/Alamy
Alice Dear

By Alice Dear

The Government have published a full list of schools with RAAC concrete.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

Schools were thrown into chaos last week by the information about RAAC concrete, just days before students were expected to return to classrooms for the new school year.

The Department for Education have said that 156 school buildings were identified as having the type of potentially dangerous concrete. Out of these, 52 were at risk of a sudden collapse, which caused immediate action to be taken to make them safe for teachers and pupils.

While it was originally thought the other 104 were safe, it has recently been revealed that they could still pose a risk.

Now, the Government have published the full list of schools with RAAC concrete.

Work begins on Abbey Lane Primary School in Sheffield, which has been affected with sub-standard reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete
Work begins on Abbey Lane Primary School in Sheffield, which has been affected with sub-standard reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete. Picture: Alamy

Which schools have RAAC concrete? Full list

The Government have confirmed the following schools have RAAC concrete:

  • Ferryhill School
  • Wyburns Primary School
  • Jerounds Primary Academy
  • Roding Valley High School
  • Lambourne Primary School
  • Hillhouse CofE Primary School
  • Barnes Farm Junior School
  • St Elizabeth's Catholic Voluntary Academy
  • Hockley Primary School
  • Chipping Ongar Primary School
  • Langney Primary Academy
  • St Teresa's Catholic Primary School
  • St Mary and St John Junior and Infant School
  • St John Catholic Primary School
  • St Anne's Catholic Primary School, Harlow Green
  • St Francis' Catholic Primary School
  • Buckhurst Hill Community Primary School
  • Sunny Bank Primary School
  • St Benet's Catholic Primary School, Ouston
  • St Bede's Catholic School and Byron Sixth Form College
  • St Joseph's Catholic Primary School
  • Wells Park School
  • St James' Catholic Primary School, Hebburn
  • St John Bosco Catholic Primary School, Town End Farm, Sunderland
  • St Columba's Catholic Primary School, Wallsend
  • St John Vianney Catholic Primary School, West Denton
  • The Holy Family Catholic School, a Voluntary Academy
  • St Michael's Catholic School
  • Elmstead Primary School
  • The London Oratory School
  • Tendring Technology College
  • East Bergholt High School
  • Hounsdown School
  • Thurstable School Sports College and Sixth Form Centre
  • Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School
  • Waddesdon Church of England School
  • Wallingford School
  • Woodkirk Academy
  • Batley Girls High School
  • St Clere's School
  • Sandbach School
  • Carmel College
  • Anglo European School
  • St Thomas More Catholic School, Blaydon
  • The Gilberd School
  • The Thomas Lord Audley School
  • St Helena School
  • East Tilbury Primary School
  • Clacton County High School
  • White Hall Academy and Nursery
  • Altrincham College
  • Cleeve Park School
  • Joyce Frankland Academy, Newport
  • Danetree Primary School
  • The Bromfords School
  • Royal College Manchester (Seashell Trust)
  • The Ramsey Academy, Halstead
  • Redhill School
  • Ark Boulton Academy
  • Woodville Primary School
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Voluntary Academy
  • Thomas Bullock Church of England Primary and Nursery Academy
  • Water Lane Primary Academy
  • Katherine Semar Junior School
  • Katherine Semar Infant School
  • Mistley Norman Church of England Primary School
  • Hatfield Heath Primary School
  • St Thomas More Catholic Comprehensive School
  • Godinton Primary School
  • St Francis Catholic Primary School, South Ascot
  • The FitzWimarc School
  • Winter Gardens Academy
  • Cherry Tree Academy
  • Prince Albert Junior and Infant School
  • Cockermouth School
  • Northampton International Academy
  • St Gregory's Catholic Science College
  • Bishop Douglass School Finchley
  • Lubbins Park Primary Academy
  • Scalby School
  • Arthur Bugler Primary School
  • St Leonard's Catholic School, Durham
  • Canon Slade School
  • Claydon High School
  • Harlowbury Primary School
  • Kingsdown School
  • Katherines Primary Academy and Nursery
  • Sir Thomas Boughey Academy
  • Harwich and Dovercourt High School
  • Markyate Village School and Nursery
  • Widford School
  • Palmarsh Primary School
  • Birchington Church of England Primary School
  • St James' Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School
  • St Bartholomew's Catholic Primary School, Swanley
  • Bispham Endowed Church of England Primary School
  • Our Lady's Catholic High School
  • Mayflower Primary School
  • Parks Primary School
  • Donnington Wood Infant School and Nursery Centre
  • Thurston Community College
  • Shawfield Primary School
  • St Paul's Catholic Primary School, Thames Ditton
  • Petroc College
  • Park View School
  • Springfield Primary School
  • Outwoods Primary School
  • Denbigh School
  • Sale Grammar School
  • The Appleton School
  • King Ethelbert School
  • Holcombe Grammar School
  • The Coopers' Company and Coborn School
  • Wood Green Academy
  • The Honywood Community Science School
  • The Billericay School
  • Aston Manor Academy
  • Hadleigh High School
  • The Palmer Catholic Academy
  • Myatt Garden Primary School
  • Seven Mills Primary School
  • The Ellen Wilkinson School for Girls
  • St Ignatius College
  • Welbourne Primary School
  • St John Vianney RC Primary School
  • Hornsey School for Girls
  • Brandhall Primary School
  • St William of York Catholic Primary School
  • St Andrew's CofE Primary School, Over Hulton
  • All Saints C of E Primary School
  • Abbey Lane Primary School
  • Pippins School
  • Stanway Fiveways Primary School
  • Baynards Primary School
  • Great Leighs Primary School
  • Henham and Ugley Primary and Nursery School
  • Bentfield Primary School and Nursery
  • White Court School
  • Beehive Lane Community Primary School
  • Eversley Primary School
  • Holy Trinity CofE Primary School, Eight Ash Green and Aldham
  • St Lawrence Church of England Primary School, Rowhedge
  • Great Tey Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School
  • Hatfield Peverel St Andrew's Junior School
  • Broomfield Primary School
  • Mersea Island School
  • Cranbourne

What is RAAC concrete?

The Government website explains: "RAAC is a lightweight form of concrete. The Standing Committee on Structural Safety (SCOSS) has noted that: 'Although called 'concrete', (RAAC) is very different from traditional concrete and, because of the way in which it was made, much weaker.

"RAAC was used in schools, colleges and other building construction from the 1950s until the mid-1990s. It may therefore be found in any school and college building (educational and ancillary) that was either built or modified in this time period."